AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
diegoal
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 1 of 10 (1,659 Views)

Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

1659 Views, 9 Replies
01-08-2011 09:21 AM

Hello,

 

I am experiencing very slow performances in my C3D2011 64b.

 

I realized that when I need to erase or to do any other comand to a large amount of objects my C3D2011 gets veeeery slow.

 

Example: when I need to erase 10.000 objects (small lines from exploded contour lines) it takes me more than 30 seconds. I tried to do the same in a AutoCad 2010 (instaled in a older and weaker machine)  and it took me 2 seconds. In fact I need to erase more then 320.000 objects and every timeI try I need to crtl+delete it because I after 10 minutes it not get finished (in the Acad2010 it took me 15 seconds).

 

I had the VBA enabler installed but I unistalled it to avoid loosing performance with the 32 bits emulation.

 

What should be happening to make C3D to slow??? And what should I do to make it better? Please, it would help me a lot.

 

Thank you in advance and sorry for my Tarzan english,

 

Diego

 

C3D2011 - W7 64bits i7 2.80Ghz 8GB Ram GeForce 9800 GT 4GB

C3D2010 - XP SP3 32bits Core 2 Duo 2.66Ghz 2GB Ram GeForce 8400 GS 512MB

Diego Álvares
Civil Engineer - www.trentoengenharia.com.br
Autocad Civil 3D 2013 / 2014 / 2015 - Infrastructure Design Suite
Windows 7 64 i7 4770 @3.40GHz 8GB Ram GeForce GT 630
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,630 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-09-2011 12:40 PM in reply to: diegoal

I get similar problems - have you selected ERASE then the objects or are you selecting first and then erasing??

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
diegoal
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 3 of 10 (1,618 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-09-2011 07:49 PM in reply to: neilyj

Hello neilyj,

 

Usually I type the command then I select the objects. When I get back to the office I'll try select and then execute command...

 

Did you find how to solve it?

 

Thanks,

 

Diego

Diego Álvares
Civil Engineer - www.trentoengenharia.com.br
Autocad Civil 3D 2013 / 2014 / 2015 - Infrastructure Design Suite
Windows 7 64 i7 4770 @3.40GHz 8GB Ram GeForce GT 630
Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 893
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 4 of 10 (1,616 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-09-2011 08:19 PM in reply to: diegoal

Slow down also happens due to the Properties window being open.

 

Christopher

www.CivilReminders.com

http:\\blog.civil3dreminders.com

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,602 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-10-2011 12:36 AM in reply to: diegoal

 

Hello neilyj,

 

Usually I type the command then I select the objects. When I get back to the office I'll try select and then execute command...

 

Did you find how to solve it?

 

Thanks,

 

Diego

 

Issuing the command and then making the selection is the preferred way of doing things but I've no idea what is causing the slowdown - you could also try auditing and purging.

 

Has the original data you are using been generated by Civil 3D or is it from a non C3D dwg/dxf as this type of data is not very efificient for C3D to process apparently??

 

When C3D 2011 behaves itself it is great, but it does seem to be fond of going into "Not responding" mode more often than I feel it should  

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 10 (1,590 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-10-2011 05:19 AM in reply to: neilyj

 


neilyj wrote:

 

Issuing the command and then making the selection is the preferred way of doing things

 


That isn't necessarily true.  Most commands are designed so you can either issue the command first then select the objects, or select objects first then issue the command.  There are some commands (mostly C3D commands) that force you to run the command first, but most commands are designed so you can do whatever is most convenient.

 

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,586 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-10-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: diegoal

I stand corrected - although, for me at least, C3D's performance can be like walking through treacle at times with constant random crashes, not responding and lockups which inevitably occur when you are working to a tight deadline

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
diegoal
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 8 of 10 (1,582 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-10-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: diegoal

Hello,

 

"Has the original data you are using been generated by Civil 3D or is it from a non C3D dwg/dxf as this type of data is not very efificient for C3D to process apparently??"

 

Nops... the exploded contour lines weren't created with C3D. It was created a long time ago (I believe in 1998 in a dwg/dxf format) .

 

Should be this the problem of slow processes? I am running "As AutoCad" and it is still veeery slow...

 

Thank you,

 

 

Diego

 

 

Diego Álvares
Civil Engineer - www.trentoengenharia.com.br
Autocad Civil 3D 2013 / 2014 / 2015 - Infrastructure Design Suite
Windows 7 64 i7 4770 @3.40GHz 8GB Ram GeForce GT 630
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,671
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 10 (1,579 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

01-10-2011 06:14 AM in reply to: diegoal

  • Start Civil as AutoCAD
  • set Variable DEMANDLOAD to Zero
  • close and restart Civil as AutoCAD

May be worth trying the above which loads up a pure AutoCAD 2011 session ( check DEMANDLOAD variable first and then follow the same steps to reset afterwards).

 

I suspect it is the number of entities to be erased that is causing the problem - does it work ok if you select a few hundred (rather than thousands) entities?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
Partenheimer
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎01-29-2005
Message 10 of 10 (1,254 Views)

Re: Slow performance with multi-selected objects comands like 'erase'

03-30-2011 12:47 PM in reply to: diegoal

 

This appears to be an issue in 64-bit Map 3D 2011.

 

Refer to the following Map 3D post:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Map-3D/ACAD-Map-3D-2011-running-slow/m-p/2930580/highlight/tru...

 

A CAD Manager friend of mine tested Civil 3D 2011 with and without Map 3D loaded.

Based on his tests, he isolated this as a Map 3D issue rather than a Civil 3D issue.

 

To disable Map 3D at Civil 3D startup see:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13390398&linkID=9240697

 

Michael Partenheimer

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs