AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
4dawgfans
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2012
Message 1 of 14 (2,485 Views)

Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

2485 Views, 13 Replies
05-10-2012 02:46 PM

Has anyone succesfully produced a slope analysis exhibit using LIDAR topographic base information with this version of Civil 3D? I have followed the instructions as best I can and have had no luck. I am using a trial version and this is a big factor in whether or not I will ultimately make the purchase. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 14 (2,424 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-15-2012 11:01 PM in reply to: 4dawgfans

I suppose the big question is exactly what you mean by "slope analysis"...

 

If you're talking about "slope arrows", then yes, C3D has always had this problem, as it insists upon inserting one arrow for every TIN triangle.  And this can create an absolute mess, if you're using LIDAR data to create a drawing, since LIDAR will tend to produce an incredibly large number of triangles, even when using the "Point File" option in C3D to create the surface.

 

Personally, I haven't found C3D very good at processing LIDAR data.  We use Trimble equipment, and have found Trimble Real Works to do a much better job of letting us prune down point clouds to a reasonable level, which we can then use to create surfaces in C3D.  The C3D Point Cloud tools have left us very frustrated, with nowhere near as much control.

 

But even if we use TRW to prune the data, we still end up with a lot of triangles.  And when C3D wants to put an arrow on every single triangle, we still get into a mess.

 

So not sure if I can give you any guidance....  Just commiseration, since we've encountered the same mess.

 

It's not so bad if you want to setup more of an "elevation" display, where various color gradients show the slope.  But the arrows are definitely a problem....

Sinc
New Member
4dawgfans
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-10-2012
Message 3 of 14 (2,409 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-16-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: 4dawgfans

Thank you for responding! The product I am looking for is a shaded/colored pattern of slope gradients.....

0-5%

5%-10%

etc.

The LIDAR topo already has contour lines generated. The source is not a series of point data. Does this provide a better description of the product I seek? There is a small example attached.

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 14 (2,369 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-20-2012 08:06 PM in reply to: 4dawgfans

Sounds like you're looking for a Slope display

 

You would need to generate a Civil 3D Surface, and apply a Slope Display to it (enabled in the Surface Style).  Then create a Surface Table that displays the Slopes.

 

You MAY also need to make sure you go into the Surface Properties, and create the correct ranges, as indicated below (remember to hit the downward-pointed arrow once you have the values set, to create the ranges).

 

Slopes.png

Sinc
Active Member
kepano530
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 5 of 14 (377 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-21-2014 04:13 PM in reply to: Sinc

Sorry to jump in like this but I'm having an issue with being unable to adjust the ranges in my slope analysis. Everytime I try to update it just flashes by and doesn't update them. the most I can get is 2 ranges. please enlighten me. thanks

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,787
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 14 (369 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-21-2014 05:04 PM in reply to: kepano530

Post your drawing

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
kepano530
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 7 of 14 (350 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-22-2014 08:51 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Ok I've posted the drawing. Thanks

 

Stephen Ennis Civil 3D 2013
Dell T1650 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31225 @ 3.20 GHz
8 GB Ram

Win 7 Pro 64-bit OS

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,787
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 14 (336 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-22-2014 11:58 AM in reply to: kepano530
Something wrong in the drawing. I tried making an arbitrary surface and it does the same thing.

I see you data was contours. I would try again in a clean drawing and rebuild the surface. Use Map clean on the plines before adding to the surface
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
jkier
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Message 9 of 14 (327 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-22-2014 12:34 PM in reply to: 4dawgfans

Looks like you have the set the surface display to slopes them modify the slopes display definition, then you can add ranges

 

Just realized your in 13, this was done in 14 not sure if it'll work for you

Active Member
kepano530
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 10 of 14 (306 Views)

Re: Slope Analysis in Civil 3D 2013

05-22-2014 01:53 PM in reply to: jkier

Thanks Jkier for the reply. What I did was change the range precision and I got it to take. However I don't know how to change the colors in the table.

It doesn't match the surface. Any suggestions?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs