AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 1 of 9 (197 Views)

Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

197 Views, 8 Replies
06-12-2012 09:54 AM

Hello All:

 

anybody find a work around for plotting a MrSid using DVIEW TW 270 ?   Naturally we've spend 2 days on this.  DVIEW used to be a great way to create dynamic views...

 

 

Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 9 (192 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: JeffWright5789

Hi,

 

that's not enough info:

  • what version of Civil3D do you have
  • what servicepack
  • what plotter-driver
  • problem also visible while plot-preview is shown

 

Look to the attachment, this is how Civil3D and SIF-files work at my pc with rotated views.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 3 of 9 (183 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 12:18 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Civil 3d 2010.  The plot dialog you show in the attachement doesn't even remotely look the dialog I get when I plot?

Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 9 (179 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 12:43 PM in reply to: JeffWright5789

Hi,

 

>> The plot dialog you show in the attachement doesn't even remotely look the dialog I get when I plot?

I used Civil3D2013 and the plot dialog (except as mine is German) has not changed for some releases now.

 

>> Civil 3d 2010.

I had more questions than just the Civil3D-version :smileywink:

 

And I did now try SID-files with Civil3D2010 (D.309.0.0 Version 4.1), it works as designed.

An additional question I have now: have you referenced the SID-files with MAPIINSERT or using the FDO-functionality?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 5 of 9 (177 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I've done the insert with Mapiinsert and used the RASTER attach thru the Map utilities.  My plot dialog must be broke if they didn't change it.

Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010
Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 6 of 9 (176 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: JeffWright5789

Plot preview only shows line work ...  no sid...

Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 9 (173 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: JeffWright5789

Hi,

 

>> My plot dialog must be broke if they didn't change it.

So how does your plotdialog look like? Upload a screenshot.

 

>> I've done the insert with Mapiinsert and used the RASTER attach thru the Map utilities

I'm not sure what "Map utitlities" start to get images referenced (I'm using a German version of Civil3D). But if it's the command _IMAGE or _MAPIINSERT again, then try it with command _MAPCONNECT (that is what I use by default except I have to much data, because MAPIINSERT is faster at all).

 

BTW: you have tried also one image in a complete new drawing (based on an original template from Civil3D)?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 8 of 9 (157 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-12-2012 03:30 PM in reply to: JeffWright5789

a couple of thoughts - is the .SID on a "noplot" layer (been there, done that....)

 

or, what if you try something like simulating dviewtwist:

 

1) set ucsfollow=1

2) enable ortho mode & draw a set of axes

3) UCS - 3point - click on 3 points from the axes to rotate the coordinate system

4) turn off ucsfollow

5) set ucs to World

 

Same effect as dviewtwist, but old school....


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Valued Contributor
JeffWright5789
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
Message 9 of 9 (140 Views)

Re: Sid don't plot with DVIEW screen twist at 270 degrees

06-13-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: thepworth

If all else fails...   Use a tif...   Good to go....  thanks for all the comments...

Appreciate all the help from the Forum
Version: AutoCAD C3D 2010

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs