AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,769
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 11 of 29 (192 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 06:10 AM in reply to: wsargent

OK. I'm lost. When I try the state file it shows an input coordinate system of Artic98. I tried looking at the metadata but can't see (quickly) what system these files should be in.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,769
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 12 of 29 (190 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 06:59 AM in reply to: wsargent

I've been looking at the Metadata. It looks like it's a NAD27 projection. But Im not sure which one. It looks to be State Wide and none of the State Plane systems listed in Civil 3D are state wide. If someone who's familiar with them takes a look it might solve your problem.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 13 of 29 (179 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 01:23 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I just found out that the PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources has its own datum that it creates all it's information in... I hate government agencies. Any way, I was provided the below coordinate information and told that I needed to create a new datum in Civil 3D to be able in inset that data properly. Since I don't know how to do that I am back here. How do I create a coordinate system in Civil 3D using this information?

 

Projection type: Lambert Conformal Conic

Datum: NAD 1927

Spheroid: Clark 1866

Central meridian: -78°

First standard parallel:  33°

Second standard parallel: 45°

Latitude of origin: 0°

Units: meters

 

Since this is above my current training, THANK YOU in advance for any help.

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
Active Contributor
MMorrison
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-23-2007
Message 14 of 29 (175 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 01:37 PM in reply to: wsargent

Hit the create button next to the assign button on the coordinate system panel on the ribbon.  Simply start filling the values in giving it a name that makes sense to you.  It then shows up in the list when you assign the coordinate system.

 

Martin

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 15 of 29 (168 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 03:39 PM in reply to: wsargent

And if you still are lost with Martins reply, here's a link to Sinc's helpful tip on it.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
MMorrison
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-23-2007
Message 16 of 29 (160 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 06:24 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Well, my reponse was hastily typed...I will take all the help I can get.  Thanks, Murph

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,575
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 17 of 29 (153 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-19-2011 11:47 PM in reply to: wsargent

wsargent wrote:

PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources has its own datum


It's hard to believe that US government uses a non-conventional EPSG, sir...

Anyway, I advice you to:

1] do everything in your standard PA83-NF 

2] from time to time, export your vectors to Google Earth, in order to check the alignment on the physical planet (command _PUBLISHKML)

3] when everything fits, finally convert all to their odd CRS.

Distinguished Contributor
wsargent
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎01-12-2007
Message 18 of 29 (137 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-20-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: Murph

Murph wrote:

And if you still are lost with Martins reply, here's a link to Sinc's helpful tip on it.


That is a very helpful video, but unfortunately I do not understand the language of coordinate systems. In the video he shows how to create a Lambert Conformal Conic, single standard parallel; from the information I was provided it looks like I might have a double standard parallel, but I have no Idea. I also cannot figure out where the central meridian goes.

 

[edit] removed

__________

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 (Primary), 2011 by contract.
Dell Percision T3500: MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1; Intel Xeon CPU W3505 @ 2.53GHz, 12.00 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,769
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 19 of 29 (130 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-20-2011 07:50 AM in reply to: wsargent

This is the coordinate system info from the metadata, if it helps.

 

PAMD.JPG

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,769
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 20 of 29 (127 Views)

Re: Shapefile datum issue

12-20-2011 07:56 AM in reply to: wsargent

I'm not saying this is the correct way to do things. But you're working with state wide data, much of which comes form scanned maps.

 

You could always cheat. You have the state border in both systems. Move, Rotate and Scale may get you a close enough fit. You wouldn't want to do it this way if you'll have to do it more than once or twice.

 

Only you can judge if this is appropriate for your project. I'm just going by what I've seen of it.

 

Allen

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs