Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shape File Imported Into Storm and Sanitary Analysis Shows All Zero Elevations

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
danielepb1
1357 Views, 4 Replies

Shape File Imported Into Storm and Sanitary Analysis Shows All Zero Elevations

Good afternoon. I'm a beginner user of SSA (Storm and Sanitary Analysis) and I really need to import a GIS data with the elevations of a stream in order to run a simulation. But, when I import the data all the elevations are zero! What should I do? Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
antoniovinci
in reply to: danielepb1

A classic shapefile ships without physical elevations, unless you transform it into a true 3D shape, sir.

Using a spreadsheet, open the .DBF belonging to the shapeset, and look for a column like "height" or something similar.

If it's populated by numbers representing a Z dimension, you can apply those elevation to the objects, by means of _ADEDRAWINGS first, then _ADEQUERY.

Message 3 of 5
danielepb1

Really thanks for yor answer!

But I still have a dought...How I've said, I'm a user beginner and I didn't understand how can I apply those elevations to the objects. When you said "By means of _ADEDRAWINGS first, then _ADEQUERY" is in Civil 3D or Storm and Sanitary Analysis? How can I do this?

Message 4 of 5
Murph_Map

@danielepb1 wrote:

Really thanks for yor answer!

But I still have a dought...How I've said, I'm a user beginner and I didn't understand how can I apply those elevations to the objects. When you said "By means of _ADEDRAWINGS first, then _ADEQUERY" is in Civil 3D or Storm and Sanitary Analysis? How can I do this?

With SSA you can't, with Civil3D depending on the shp file you can create a surface from the shp file. Look at create a surface from GIS.

Murph
Supporting the troops daily.