Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting all lines to 0 Elevation?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
mwadkins12
9750 Views, 5 Replies

Setting all lines to 0 Elevation?

Okay, I am new to Civil 3d (we are trying to make the move from Land Desktop to Civil 3d) and I have already came across a snag. Esscentially, I get yard drawings from customers that I have to use and I have noticed that there are several different entities at different elevations (when looking at it from the front view). Is there a way to flatten all of these lines (and entities) to zero elevation? I have tried the FLATTEN command (which didn't work), tried opening the elevation editor (which the entities that I have are not part of this), as well as a could other things that I have found on the internet. So far, I have not been able to get this to work (without manually setting the "Y" value to zero for each individual line); all I need is a 2d setup here with everything on one plane.

Is there a way to get this done via something that I have over looked, LISP, or some other method?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
sboon
in reply to: mwadkins12

If all of the entities are simple lines then you should be able to select all of them and use the properties dialog to set their endpoint Z values to zero.

One of the important things to consider when transitioning from LDT to C3D is the fact that Z values matter in this software.  If those lines and entities are part of a surface model and you change them then the surface will be broken.  You need to start considering how to incorporate 3d into your drafting process if you want to be successful with C3d.

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Steve
Expert Elite Alumnus
Message 3 of 6
jmayo-EE