AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
wdprice3
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎05-24-2010
Message 1 of 7 (339 Views)
Accepted Solution

Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

339 Views, 6 Replies
11-22-2013 05:56 AM
I have quite a few alignments to create and would rather not have to set the layer and conversion options for each. I'd like all to be on the same layer (that is already defined in the drawing) and to change the conversion options both off. I've been looking through the settings table in TS, but haven't found anywhere to change the default layer and conversion option states. Currently, the create alignment from objects defaults are to have alignments on independent layers (Model-Alignment*, where * adds the alignment name as a suffix to the layer name) and both conversion options are on. Any help would be appreciated
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 557
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 2 of 7 (329 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 06:32 AM in reply to: wdprice3
From the Settings tab in Toolspace, right click on the drawing name, choose Edit Drawing Settings, then change to the Object Layers tab
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 7 (321 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 06:40 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer
& if you go to the same place, switch to the 'Ambient Settings' tab > General > Save Command Changes to Settings > Yes.
Then you should only have to set things once, AFAIK.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,291
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 7 (314 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: wdprice3

You can set the command settings directly. Go toe Settings->Alignment->Commands->Create alignment entities, right click, Edit command settings, Create from Entities.

 

While troma's suggestion will work, I don't like having that setting on as it can adversely affect other settings that you may only want to change once. But as long as you are aware of it's setting it can be useful (I haven't used it in 5 years, better to change each command setting as you need, imho).

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (312 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: Jeff_M
Thanks Jeff. I knew that was somewhere.
The OP talked about 'converting' to an alignment, I'm guessing from a polyline. Can you confirm this setting works for creating an alignment from polyline? I was looking in CreateAlignFromExisting and I couldn't find the setting. That's why I pointed to the Ambient setting instead. I presumed creating from a polyline would be controlled by CreateAlignFromExisting .


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,291
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 7 (296 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: troma
No, those settings are for creating an alignment from an existing alignment. The Create from Entities are for converting AutoCAD lines, arcs, polylines
Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
wdprice3
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎05-24-2010
Message 7 of 7 (287 Views)

Re: Set alignment creation defaults (layer and options)

11-22-2013 10:35 AM in reply to: wdprice3
Thanks to all! Found both settings locations thanks to your posts. I knew they were buried somewhere in the settings tab. I've never seen the object layers settings before - going to be very useful. Thanks again.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.