AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
dbinkney
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-17-2008
Message 1 of 8 (2,780 Views)

Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

2780 Views, 7 Replies
05-06-2011 08:03 AM

Any advice on how to send an entire layer to the back in display order, not just entities?

 

Civil 3D 2008

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (2,774 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

05-06-2011 08:19 AM in reply to: dbinkney

you have to make a selection set. qselect all enties by layer

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
dbinkney
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-17-2008
Message 3 of 8 (2,769 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

05-06-2011 08:24 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks! I will give that a shot.

 

Honestly, I am kind of astonished that there's not an easier way to control layer orders.

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 8 (2,766 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

05-06-2011 08:29 AM in reply to: dbinkney

AutoCAD has never used that sort of system to control draw order.  Instead, it allows us to control draw order by individual objects.  This gives us more flexibility, but it can be argued that it gives us TOO MUCH flexibility, and controlling draw order on a per-layer basis would work better in many situations.

 

Given how many years AutoCAD has been the way it is, however, I wouldn't hold my breath on seeing this change any time soon...

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 8 (2,746 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

05-06-2011 11:09 AM in reply to: dbinkney

Incidentally, there is a tool on Autodesk Labs that will do this.

http://labs.blogs.com/its_alive_in_the_lab/2011/01/january-adn-plugin-of-the-month-draw-order-by-lay...

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
ITTCowboy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2010
Message 6 of 8 (1,720 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

02-15-2013 12:45 PM in reply to: dbinkney

I know this is an old thread, but Im having trouble loading the dll file. This is what I get when I use the NETLOAD command:

 

Cannot load assembly. Error details: System.IO.FileLoadException: Could not load file or assembly 'file:///C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\adnPlugin-DrawOrderByLayer.dll' or one of its dependencies. Operation
is not supported. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131515)
File name: 'file:///C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\adnPlugin-DrawOrderByLayer.dll' ---> System.NotSupportedException: An attempt was made to load an assembly from a network location which would have caused the assembly to be sandboxed in previous versions of the .NET Framework.
This release of the .NET Framework does not enable CAS policy by default, so this load may be dangerous. If this load is not intended to sandbox the assembly, please enable the loadFromRemoteSources switch. See http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=155569 for more information.
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly._nLoad(AssemblyName fileName, String codeBase, Evidence assemblySecurity, RuntimeAssembly locationHint, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean throwOnFileNotFound, Boolean forIntrospection, Boolean suppressSecurityChecks)
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.InternalLoadAssemblyName(AssemblyName
assemblyRef, Evidence assemblySecurity, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean
forIntrospection, Boolean suppressSecurityChecks)
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.InternalLoadFrom(String assemblyFile,
Evidence securityEvidence, Byte[] hashValue, AssemblyHashAlgorithm
hashAlgorithm, Boolean forIntrospection, Boolean suppressSecurityChecks,
StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
   at System.Reflection.Assembly.LoadFrom(String assemblyFile)
   at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.ExtensionLoader.Load(String fileName)
   at loadmgd()

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 8 (1,715 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

02-15-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: ITTCowboy

It was created a while ago.  it's probably not compatible with your version of AutoCAD.  In the link it says it was tested on 2007, which likely would make it not work for 2010 and above.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 8 (1,712 Views)

Re: Send LAYER to back in display order. Not entities, the entire layer

02-15-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: ITTCowboy

Check out Lee Mac's lisp for this

 

http://lee-mac.com/layerdraworder.html


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs