AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
RFrecka
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 1 of 8 (420 Views)
Accepted Solution

Scalelistedit Problem

420 Views, 7 Replies
03-12-2013 12:56 PM

I've been having a problem being able to access the scalelistedit function of Civil 3D. 

Each time I try to edit the list my Civil 3D freezes completely. I can Esc out and everything else works perfectly fine however it's become quite the nuisance. 

I don't get any errors and it appears to be working on the function but after having left it that way for several minutes with no results I'm drawing a blank. The drawing I'm currently on is very small (1.3MB) and I thought size might have been the culprit but it keeps happening..

 

Contributor
fautodesk
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 2 of 8 (402 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

03-12-2013 03:06 PM in reply to: RFrecka

Let me help you out with this. You will need to follow the directions to the letter, i.e. don't 'click' on move if I say hit'M' for move.

 

Start by hitting Alt+Space bar. A menu will pop up. type "M" for move. Then, use your arrow keys left or right until you see the pop up menu for the scalelist. What is happening is your menu is popping up behind you main Autocad frame. You can also try grabbing the windowed frame for autocad (the corners) and make it small enough (don't minimize) that the scalelist shows up. I hoipe this works for you.

Member
RFrecka
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 3 of 8 (391 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

03-12-2013 03:24 PM in reply to: fautodesk

I hate when it's that simple of a fix..Haha Thanks!

Member
kwiley
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2013
Message 4 of 8 (260 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

08-21-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: RFrecka

i had this same problem and followed the instructions to get the window to pop up... worked great.. but now when i go to add a custom scale it freezes and wont let me add one.. any solution??

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,095
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 8 (256 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

08-21-2013 09:08 AM in reply to: kwiley

You might be suffering from "excess annotation scales" ie. the list has gotten longer than what the listbox in the dialog can support.  Try using the command line version of the scale list editor to reset the scale list first.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
kwiley
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2013
Message 6 of 8 (246 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

08-21-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: RFrecka

tried that.. nope... i am unable to 'delete' any of the scales as well.. very strange.. annoying.. and driving me crazy because i use custom scales all day long.. ugh:smileyfrustrated:

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,134
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (234 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

08-21-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: fautodesk
I made a animation of this a while back, if anyone is interested for future reference.

http://cadpanacea.com/node/95

http://cadpanacea.com/images/mvdialog.gif

Member
kwiley
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2013
Message 8 of 8 (218 Views)

Re: Scalelistedit Problem

08-22-2013 05:11 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

ok! i just realized that my "add" scale window was coming up and that had to do the same thing to move

the window to my screen!! thank you all so much for your help..

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs