Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SURVEY DATABASE-RENUMBER POINTS

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
CADEngr2014
1443 Views, 6 Replies

SURVEY DATABASE-RENUMBER POINTS

Hello,

I am somewhat new to the survey database concepts.  My workflow is to open database for editing, in toolspace "Survey" tab, select Survey Points, right click on points in toolspace view, select points->unlock points in drawing->select edit points.  Yet , I am unable to edit the point number.  Is there a way to renumber a point in a survey database or could I be missing something?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: CADEngr2014

I've had problems myself editing the point #'s when they are imported through a survey data base. The only way to change the point # on a point or points is to change it through the point file that the survey data base is referenced to.
Here's an example.
When you open the survey data base:
1. Look under the import events which should have the name of the point file.
2. Go to the Prospector Tab, and under point groups that point file should be listed as a point group.
3. right click on that point group and select export points. Make sure you choose the right format and location where to put it. Open that new point file and make changes to it. you can change the point numbers, elevations etc. Its good to do it this way so you don't mess with the original data in case you need to go back to it. Create an extra point file just in case.