AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kevinjackman
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 1 of 4 (256 Views)
Accepted Solution

SAC Help with Side parameter

256 Views, 3 Replies
07-15-2011 06:07 AM

I've made a new subassembly using the composer.

 

For some reason, if I don't add a "side" parameter, the subassembly will work as intended but I will be unable to mirror it.

 

When I do add the side parameter, I get a PILE of errors.

 

I think the error may be in calculating P3, using the 'intersection point' tool, but I'm not sure. 

 

The subassembly is a simple shoulder with daylighting.  See attached.

 

Anyone mind having a look?

 

Thanks.

 

C3D 2011.

Windows 7, 64 Bit.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 4 (248 Views)

Re: SAC Help with Side parameter

07-15-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: kevinjackman

When I build a subassembly that is going to flip the first thing I do is set the default side to right. This seems to set up the logic for the SAC that will allow it to flip left / right. You may need to do this and then rebuild your SA to get it to play nice.

 

Sorry for the bad news...

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
kevinjackman
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 3 of 4 (236 Views)

Re: SAC Help with Side parameter

07-15-2011 10:00 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

I did manage to get my new subassembly to work as expected, without recompiling it.

 

My second point in the subassembly was defined by "Angle and Distance".  The angle was set to 270, which was 'down' in the preview of the subassembly.

 

This seems to have played havoc with the SIDE parameter.  Maybe the 'angle' parameter is dependant on the actual angle in CAD?

 

Anyways, when I changed this to Delta X / Delta Y for the first point, all was good, and the SIDE parameter works.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 4 (232 Views)

Re: SAC Help with Side parameter

07-15-2011 10:11 AM in reply to: kevinjackman

Good catch! I only use the angle paramters when I'm trying to measure perp to an existing link.

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs