AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 150 (7,913 Views)

River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

7913 Views, 149 Replies
05-09-2011 03:53 PM

There is a new technology preview on Autodesk Labs.

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/civil3d_river/

 

Project River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD® Civil 3D® 2012 software and AutoCAD® Map 3D® 2012 is a sophisticated river modeling software package supports HEC-RAS within the AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 and AutoCAD Map 3D 2012 environment. This technology preview of River Analysis makes it easier than ever before to compute water surface profiles for modeling rivers, bridges, culverts, spillways, levees, floodplain and floodway delineations, stream diversions, channel improvements, and split flows.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,906
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 2 of 150 (7,849 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-10-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

bump!

Matthew Anderson, PE
New Member
ROBERTLEE2890
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 3 of 150 (7,786 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-10-2011 10:33 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Is the the BOSS RiverCADD software incorporated dirtectly to ACAD??

 

If so - GOD BLESS YOU MAN!!!

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,906
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 150 (7,770 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-10-2011 11:25 AM in reply to: ROBERTLEE2890

River Analysis is a technology preview that runs on AutoCAD Map 3D and/or AutoCAD Civil 3D.  

Matthew Anderson, PE
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 5 of 150 (7,762 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-10-2011 11:31 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

Hey.  Sorry to jack this, but your name has a little NNTP logo next to it here.  Does that mean you're browsing this DG with a newsreader?  If so, can you let me in on it?

 

Web still sux.

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,906
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 6 of 150 (7,750 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-10-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: DaveDrahn

I would assume it had to do with the source of my account during the transition, but I have no idea.  Web and RSS is it.

Matthew Anderson, PE
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 7 of 150 (7,698 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-11-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

hm.  well, back on track, I wish the river extension was made available for C3D 2011.  I'd like to check it out but I doubt it'd be worth updating to 2012 to do so.  We use steltman's rivertools.

Member
raquelde
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 8 of 150 (7,641 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-12-2011 02:39 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Hello

 

How can I draw the rivers/reachs? are they polylines, alignments...?

 

Thanks

 

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,906
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 9 of 150 (7,609 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-13-2011 05:49 AM in reply to: raquelde

On launch of River Analysis, the Reach object is created.  The abilitity to create, edit, and delete Reaches are on the Ribbon Panel.  

 

When creating the automated sections, the Streamcenterline is a polyline.

Matthew Anderson, PE
Valued Contributor
gauss2069
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Message 10 of 150 (7,567 Views)

Re: River Analysis Extension for AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Map 3D

05-13-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: Matt.Anderson
I have been using Boss RiverCAD for floodplain analysis and design the past few years. I installed River analysis Extension immediately. It looks pretty good so far. The first thing I realized was that the previous drawing files I used with Boss RiverCAD are not recognized once you open with RAE. I had to import files from Hec-RAS.prj files and it ran as a champion! I am testing a few things one at a time. I am excited to give my input to make this program flawless! This will be a huge boost for Civil 3D towards H&H interface.
Civil 3D x64 2013
Win 7 x64
Intel Core i7-940XM
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 5000M

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs