AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
cadconfused
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 1 of 17 (339 Views)

Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

339 Views, 16 Replies
05-20-2013 11:14 AM
I use the right click as repeat last command a lot, but occasionally I need the shortcut menu and I have to go back and change my settings for right click.

What I would like to do is make Shift+Ctl+right click bring up the shortcut menu, but I cant seem to find it in the command list and when I do searches on google it just brings up stuff about adding an item to the shortcut menu.

Is there a way to make Shift+Ctl+right click bring up the shortcut menu?

Thank you very much for any info.
Active Contributor
wetsnow13
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 2 of 17 (334 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-20-2013 11:33 AM in reply to: cadconfused

set it for time sensitive.

 

options > user preferences > right click cusomization

Active Contributor
cadconfused
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 3 of 17 (329 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-20-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: wetsnow13

I do use right click customization, that works if you dont have anything selected.  If you have an object selected and hold down right click it does not bring up the shortcut menu.  If you do not have anything selected it doesnt bring up the same menu as if you have certain items selected.

Valued Contributor
ishkav
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎11-15-2007
Message 4 of 17 (319 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-20-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: cadconfused

You need to customize your menu for different states. As you mentioned when there is nothing selected there is a menu, when you select there is a dferent menu that is based on what is selected together with other options not related to what is selected. You can customize them by running the cui command and customize the shortcut menus in your cuix. If you expand every state menu you will figure out which one you need to modify to suit your needs, most likely that being the edit mode shortcut menu

Ishka
CAD Manager
Tom Groll Engineering
Email: ishka@tg-eng.com
Blog: http://www.civildigest.com, Twitter: C3Dish
Windows 7 x64, IDS 2014, 2013 & C3D 2012
Intel i7 930 @ 2.8Ghz, 12GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 9600GT

Active Contributor
cadconfused
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 5 of 17 (308 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-20-2013 12:26 PM in reply to: ishkav

Under Shortcut Menus I see Context menu for default mode and Context menu for edit mode, but I dont see what I would need to change or address to make it work.

Valued Contributor
ishkav
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎11-15-2007
Message 6 of 17 (293 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-20-2013 01:08 PM in reply to: cadconfused

So If you look at the screencast the first right click is the default mode. When I select the polyline the right click menu is the edit mode. So to understand you want the edit mode to have most of the default mode?

http://screencast.com/t/PrqimHt2r

Ishka
CAD Manager
Tom Groll Engineering
Email: ishka@tg-eng.com
Blog: http://www.civildigest.com, Twitter: C3Dish
Windows 7 x64, IDS 2014, 2013 & C3D 2012
Intel i7 930 @ 2.8Ghz, 12GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 9600GT

Active Contributor
cadconfused
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 7 of 17 (237 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-21-2013 04:06 AM in reply to: ishkav

What would be ideal is if when I right click it repeats the last command no matter what mode.

Then if I hit Shift+Ctrl+right click it will it will bring up the context dependant Shortcut Menu

 

You would think there would be a way to do that through typing in a custom macro, but I dont know of a command that calls the Shorcut Menu.

Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 8 of 17 (227 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-21-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: cadconfused

Make a custom shorcut menu under the cui. Then add that shortcut menu to your mouse button commands. As shown in the pic, I made brian ctrl click and added it to ctrl+click button 2 (which is the right click).

5-21-2013 7-19-49 AM.png

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Active Contributor
cadconfused
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
Message 9 of 17 (217 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-21-2013 06:02 AM in reply to: lambertb

cadmenu.png

 

Ok, so I added a menu like you did and I copied all the contents from the "Context menu for edit mode" into the "Brain ctrl click"  I went to the Ctrl+Shift+Click button 2 and cleared the assignment, now I dont see any way to actually call the new menu.  I can add commands to the button, but the Brain command is not in the Command list :smileytongue: 

Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 10 of 17 (213 Views)

Re: Right click, can i get the best of both worlds?

05-21-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: cadconfused

http://screencast.com/t/Au9CwkCRYq

 

Go to your commands on the bottom, search for your menu name. Drag that to the mouse button. Check out the video.

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs