AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 1 of 5 (175 Views)

Recover Drawing

175 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 08:54 AM

Greetings all,

 

I have a drawing, created a few months ago in 2012, that I can no longer seem to access. I run recover, audit, purge, audit, purge, etc. I've seen this before, but am not sure there is a solution. I run audit, it creates a layer called $Audit-BadLayer and I then repeat. I cannot access the file, as upon zooming/scrolling, C3D 2012 locks up. This is an isolated incident, as I havent had this problem with any other drawing.

 

Has anyone found a solution to this?

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,793
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 5 (161 Views)

Re: Recover Drawing

11-16-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: owenmull

Not specifically. I'd suggest saving the recovered drawing and inserting it in to a new file created from your template.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,479
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 5 (134 Views)

Re: Recover Drawing

11-17-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: owenmull

If you are able to open the drawing, try using Wblock to write some objects out to a different drawing file. Did it work and create a drawing that behaves? Do more objects or, if you're feeling cocky, all objects.

 

When you purged, did you use the command line version, -purge, or the version that calls a dialog? Use the command line version and be sure you purge Regapps.

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 5 (115 Views)

Re: Recover Drawing

11-18-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: owenmull

Can you get a shadow copy off the server?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 5 (104 Views)

Re: Recover Drawing

11-19-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: owenmull

Can you post the drawing file?

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs