AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 1 of 5 (220 Views)

Range Analysis Incorrect

220 Views, 4 Replies
02-26-2013 02:32 AM

Morning,

 

When I create ranges for levels under the analysis tab when editing surface properties, I now get an incorrect no. of ranges. Put simply, if I need 6 ranges, I set it to 6 and it gives me 7. If I put it to 7, it gives me 7. If I set it to 8 it gives me 9. My maths might be bad but this is quite incorrect.

 

This is a real stupid problem and a real pain, as I have hundreds of surfaces I need to correctly range and I don't want to have to edit every single table in vanilla cad to take out or add in an extra range manually.

 

Is there a workaround or fix for this, or is this another Autodesk 'feature' which will continue into the next release?

 

Thanks!

 

Kevin

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 763
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 2 of 5 (204 Views)

Re: Range Analysis Incorrect

02-26-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: ksorsby

Something similar was covered in this post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Surface-Contour-Range-analysis/m-p/3250470 but does not seemed to be resolved.

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 3 of 5 (200 Views)

Re: Range Analysis Incorrect

02-26-2013 04:50 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Yes, thanks Andrew. I'd seen that before.

It would be nice if someone from Autodesk could respond and say why this hasn't been resolved and why it's so difficult to build the same number of ranges as that which itself actually specifies.

 

Kevin

Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 4 of 5 (173 Views)

Re: Range Analysis Incorrect

03-04-2013 09:32 AM in reply to: ksorsby

Bump.

I've just had to put a range of 10 in to get 6 bands.

 

Autodesk? Any thoughts?

 

Kevin

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 763
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 5 of 5 (156 Views)

Re: Range Analysis Incorrect

03-04-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: ksorsby

I just worked out in civil 3d 2013, if you want 10 ranges for Elevation, you can change the Create ranges by: dropdown and choose range interval and use a range interval that will give you the number of ranges you need then edit the elevation values if needed.

 

For example - with a surface that has a maximum elevation of 50 and minimum elevation of 10, if I want 10 ranges, I would enter a value of 4 in the range interval. I get the 4 by maximum elevation minus minimum elevation and divide that by the number of ranges I want. So (50-10)/10 = 4

 

Not ideal but will give you the number of ranges you want without pulling your hair out.

 

Obviously something is wrong in the set ranges by number of ranges calculation.

 

There is a post or two on exporting and importing the surface analysis using tools available from the UK and ANZ country kits. The output is just a plain text file which can be edited and then import.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs