AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
rutar
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 1 of 4 (439 Views)

Rail Track Layout Utility - how add custom Rail type?

439 Views, 3 Replies
02-27-2013 12:16 AM

Hello,

 

is it possible to define custom Rail Types in Rail Track Layout Utility for AutoCAD® Civil 3D® 2013?

There is only combobox with predefined Rail types 49, 54, 60.

 

In Help I found: "The rail type defines the standard turnout types (e.g. 49, 54, 60 etc.)or other user defined types "

, also there is mentioned, that  "...pre-prepared turnout types that are written in the XML file ara_switch.xml"

 

I can't find that ara_switch.xml file. 

 

Any solutions?

 

 

 

 

 

Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 2 of 4 (380 Views)

Re: Rail Track Layout Utility - how add custom Rail type?

03-04-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: rutar

I installed the utility as well, but I cannot find the ara_switch.xml noted in the HELP menu either. Hopefully someone on the forums has a suggestion while I take some time to look into this further.



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 3 of 4 (348 Views)

Re: Rail Track Layout Utility - how add custom Rail type?

03-08-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: SethHall

I could not find the ara_switch.xml on my machine or any variation of it. It seems all the files for the utility are located here: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\Civil

 

there is a text file located here called: MSG_TurnOut.txt 

 

Have you had a look at that?



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Valued Mentor
hardin
Posts: 616
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 4 of 4 (26 Views)

Re: Rail Track Layout Utility - how add custom Rail type?

06-12-2014 12:27 PM in reply to: SethHall

Let's revive this discussion for 2015.

 

I, too, have installed the Rail Layout extension. (For IDSP 2015)

I'm not sure how useful it will actually be, but I like to give things a shot.

 

A few issues:

- Are the included turnouts U.S. standard?  It looks like the units are generic which is a good sign...

- I am also wondering how to customize the turnout catalog. I cannot find the .xml file the Help mentions. We mainly use No. 9 and No. 11 turnouts.

 

At this point, it doesn't look like it will be any more useful to me than just inserting turnout blocks I have already made, then drawing alignments from there. This extension adds the alignment, but beyond that it seems to put a lot of junk in the area of the turnout.  If it helps with corridor creation, then that would be cool. 

 

There's really not much information out there about this extension.

 

Lyle

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs