Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about point groups for a newbie...

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
brocksmith45
325 Views, 7 Replies

Question about point groups for a newbie...

Hello all. I have be learning Civl 3D by trial and error over the past month. I am a land surveyor and had used Carlson Survcad for several years. We had a pretty old version of Autocad, but I cant remember exactly which one(probably mid to late 90s version). Long story short, I have started working at a new company that uses Civil 3D 2012, and needless to say there is a lot for me to learn.

I have gradually re-learned basic autocad functions, but still struggling a bit with some of the Point Group features.

I recently performed a large boundary and topographic survey which resulted in thousands of shots in the field. For future boundary uses, I'm creating a drawing for each state plane zone that I work in so that all boundary data will be located conveniently in one drawing without all the clutter of the topo data.

In the past using Carlson I would simply copy the linework of the property boundary, and create a new coordinate file that only has the few points that are crucial to boundary work.

So my question is what is the best way to do this in Civil 3D? To recap, I want to select about 10 cogo points from a point group of thousands of irrelevant points that will never be used again, and place them in a new drawing.

Thanks for any help you can offer. 

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
rkmcswain
in reply to: brocksmith45

@brocksmith45 wrote:

......I want to select about 10 cogo points from a point group of thousands of irrelevant points that will never be used again, and place them in a new drawing.