AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
cbrockway
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 1 of 5 (129 Views)

Profile Line Types

129 Views, 4 Replies
11-10-2009 11:05 AM
Having issues with linetypes on profiles brought in via data shortcuts.

If I bring surfaces into a drawing by data shortcuts then set up a profile from surfaces I can manipulate the linetypes in the profile without issue. However, if I create a profile in the source drawing where all the surfaces live, then in the current working drawing data shortcut the profile in (with alignments and surfaces that are associated with it), then create the profile from those surfaces, I am unable to manipulate the linetypes at all.

Not a huge issue, but it is nagging at me because I have tried everything I can think of and still can't solve it.

Any insite would be appreciated.
Chris Brockway, CTech - Civil Designer
Hatch Mott MacDonald
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012, ProjectWise Explorer V8i, Bluebeam Revu x64 CAD V10.2.2
Intel Xeon @ 3.20 GHz
Nvidia Quadro 2000D Dual Monitors
16GB ram / Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit SP1
*James Wedding, P.E.
Message 2 of 5 (129 Views)

Re: Profile Line Types

11-10-2009 11:45 AM in reply to: cbrockway
It's a known issue. You'll have to create the profile in the drawing if
you want to have linetype generation enabled.

At least you can quit trying to figure it out, right?

JW
Active Member
cbrockway
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 3 of 5 (129 Views)

Re: Profile Line Types

11-10-2009 12:48 PM in reply to: cbrockway
Thanks.

Yah, at least I will be able to sleep tonight.
Chris Brockway, CTech - Civil Designer
Hatch Mott MacDonald
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012, ProjectWise Explorer V8i, Bluebeam Revu x64 CAD V10.2.2
Intel Xeon @ 3.20 GHz
Nvidia Quadro 2000D Dual Monitors
16GB ram / Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit SP1
*John Mayo
Message 4 of 5 (129 Views)

Re: Profile Line Types

11-10-2009 01:42 PM in reply to: cbrockway
I like those types of responses because it minimizes my head scratching and
I can jump right into finding a solution.

James was nice enough to give you both. :smileywink:

--
John Mayo, PE

Core i7 920 6GB DDR3
Radeon 4870HD 1 GB
Vista64
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 5 of 5 (129 Views)

Re: Profile Line Types

11-10-2009 04:45 PM in reply to: cbrockway
As an addendum to James' comment, this problem occurs everytime you create sheets through the Plan Production process to generate Plan and Profile sheets. These generated profiles are static, not dynamic, and static profiles do not have linetype generation qualities. You have to delete these static profiles from the profile views and recreate them through the Create Profile from Surface command. Profiles created in this manner are dynamic and will give you the linetype look you seek. It doesn't take long to do, but must be done with every profile in every generated profile sheet that has a linetype other than continuous.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs