AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
hmartinez5
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 1 of 5 (349 Views)
Accepted Solution

Profile Glitch 2014 SP1

349 Views, 4 Replies
10-30-2013 01:59 PM

Hello everyone,

 

I have come across a very annoying glitch that is making me waste too much time.

 

We have two profile view styles we typically use, one is a 1:1 horizontal and vertical scale and the other has a vertical exageration of 6.

 

Enter the glitch. When I use the 1:1 everything works as expected, but when I switch the style for the one that has the exageration I can grip edit but the precision is awful and unexpected.

 

 

Good Profile.png

 

Good Profile (1:1)

 

Bad Profile.png

 

Bad Profile (1:6)

 

The preview shows how the PVI to be moved shifts from the cross hairs and I can't snap to the exact location.

 

I have toggled OSNAP, purged, audit etc to no avail, even resetting Civil to the default settings. I have used the same styles on different drawings and it only occurs on this DWG.

 

Any ideas are welcomed.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 5 (341 Views)

Re: Profile Glitch 2014 SP1

10-30-2013 02:09 PM in reply to: hmartinez5

Try turning off your tracking.  I noticed that you have the tracking on.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Member
kenm
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 3 of 5 (335 Views)

Re: Profile Glitch 2014 SP1

10-30-2013 02:17 PM in reply to: hmartinez5

hmartinez5, see this post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/Profile-grip-edit-2014-Service-Pack-1/td-p/45...

 

The culprit is Axis Offset within the Profile View Style.  Change to 0 and all is well.

 

Regards, 

Active Contributor
hmartinez5
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-24-2011
Message 4 of 5 (316 Views)

Re: Profile Glitch 2014 SP1

10-30-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: kenm

Thank you!

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 5 of 5 (296 Views)

Re: Profile Glitch 2014 SP1

10-30-2013 05:35 PM in reply to: kenm

Change to 0 and all is well.

 


I guess so... unless need to uset an Axis Offset.

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs