AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
benmolit4
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 1 of 8 (278 Views)

Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

278 Views, 7 Replies
09-13-2013 12:22 PM

The company I work for recently updated a few of our computers with the SP2 for Civil 3D 2013.  After this update, every time I create a surface profile, things get all messed up.  Like I have done dozens of times before, I create the profile then open the profile creation tools.  I am using the draw tangents with curves tool and as soon as I click my first tangent point, it shows up about an inch over to the left.  I have struggled through and used the grips to edit after the fact but this used to be a VERY easy task.  Anyone having this issue or know a solution?  FYI my snap isn't on or anything goofy like that and when opened on a computer without the service pack, it works as it should. 

 

Thanks in advance. 

*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 8 (256 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

09-14-2013 09:54 AM in reply to: benmolit4
Clutching at straws but have you got a grid snap turned on?

I have not had any issues since sp2 so it's not that.

The only thing I can suggest is to try a factory reset using the method described in the knowledge base. Be aware: you will lose all current settings and customisations so back up before hand with the migration tools.
Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Contributor
comunitar
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013
Message 3 of 8 (232 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

09-17-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: benmolit4

i have the same problem.

Did anybody find a solution

tks

Member
benmolit4
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 4 of 8 (222 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

09-17-2013 11:14 AM in reply to: comunitar
The grid snap isn't on or anything like that. I thought it was isolated to my machine but then it happened to another in our office. We will be updating to 2014 soon so I will just deal with it until then. Hopefully the new version will be fine.

comunitar - Did this also happen after you updated to SP2?
Contributor
comunitar
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-25-2013
Message 5 of 8 (211 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

09-17-2013 09:18 PM in reply to: benmolit4

fix it

I reinstall civil without sp and now works fine

New Member
laudick
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2013
Message 6 of 8 (184 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

10-04-2013 02:12 PM in reply to: benmolit4

Our office is having the same problem.  All of our computer on SP2 are having issues with profiles.  Layouts are appearing off to the right of where they are created.  When you click on a grip to edit the original points appear to the left, but this makes it extremely hard to accurately drag you layout around to the desired location.  Any fix besides uninstalling SP2?

Valued Contributor
bpoleuca
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎03-23-2007
Message 7 of 8 (160 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

10-07-2013 10:57 PM in reply to: benmolit4

There is a bug and I resolved with this setting.

Go to Profile View Style => Grid and to Grid padding (major grids) set the To left = 0

Please see the attaced picture.

Good luck.

Member
benmolit4
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 8 of 8 (133 Views)

Re: Profile Creation Error after updating to 2013-SP2

10-17-2013 07:05 AM in reply to: bpoleuca
I appreciate all the suggestions but the problem is still happening. We updated to 2014 and before I had a chance to try it out, updated to SP1. Autodesk, what is going on here???

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs