AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
BenzyMH
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2007
Message 1 of 11 (337 Views)
Accepted Solution

Production Tools (Several Alignments)

337 Views, 10 Replies
10-31-2013 12:45 AM

Hello everyone

 

Ok, I love Civil 3D, it made my life easier, but i have a complicated situation, and i would appreciate help :smileyhappy:

 

I attached a PrintScreen for my situation,

We have a main line (1 Alignment) and some junctions on that main line (other Alignments), and out GOAL is to create GL (General Layout) sheets, showing Shading, Setting out and Dimensions..ETC.

So every VFG (View Frame Group) i can generate cut sheets from it, the Question is

 

1- How can i "connect" all the VFGs you see in the image attached into one VFG so that i would create them together ?

2- OR should i make separate VFGs like you see i did already , and then create cut sheets for each VFG ?

3- Or am i the only one facing this Problem ? :smileyhappy:

 

Hope to hear from you Pros ! :smileywink:

My System Info
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model HP Z800 Workstation
Total amount of system memory 24.0 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 6

My Graphic Card Info
Display adapter type NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Total available graphics memory 13047 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 12023 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.2078
Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080
Secondary monitor resolution 1920x1080
DirectX version DirectX 10
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,082
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 11 (304 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

10-31-2013 04:47 AM in reply to: BenzyMH

BenzyMH wrote:

Hello everyone

 

1- How can i "connect" all the VFGs you see in the image attached into one VFG so that i would create them together ?

2- OR should i make separate VFGs like you see i did already , and then create cut sheets for each VFG ?

3- Or am i the only one facing this Problem ? :smileyhappy:

 

Hope to hear from you Pros ! :smileywink:


 

Welcome to the Forums!

 

The View Frames are dependencies of each alignment they were created from so it's not possible to combine all alignments shown in your screen capture into one VFG. HTH

 

Jay

C3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Member
BenzyMH
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2007
Message 3 of 11 (295 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

10-31-2013 05:22 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks Mr. Jay

 

So i guess i should prupose this option for Autodesk for the newer versions of Civil 3D, and while i was playing i got a way around, (Still Under Progress) which is:

 

1- I will create VFG for the Main Line,

2- At each Junction, i will move the whole View frame to cover the Junctions Arms (Which i know will still be connected to the Main line Alignment), and i keep doing it manually for each junction in way untill it fits my design (Note that we are generating Plan Only Cut sheets).

 

I guess i will give it a try and see how it looks like,
 

Thanks though fr your reply

My System Info
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model HP Z800 Workstation
Total amount of system memory 24.0 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 6

My Graphic Card Info
Display adapter type NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Total available graphics memory 13047 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 12023 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.2078
Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080
Secondary monitor resolution 1920x1080
DirectX version DirectX 10
Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 4 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

10-31-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: BenzyMH

Although the frames are alignment dependent, you can create a SSM that controls all of the seperate alignment's sheets. Which will alow you to creat a single PDF of all the sheets in one PDF.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



Active Member
BenzyMH
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2007
Message 5 of 11 (240 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 01:47 AM in reply to: dmartin

Thanks dmartin, That's exactly what i was planning to do, but here is the result for my trial

 

1- I inserted a new VF and moved it to the arms of the Junctions and rotated it and everything was fine, But

2- Here came the Match Line, that only slides on the Alignment but Can't move away like the View Frame can !

 

So that is a Failure !

any Suggestion ?

I mean Civil 3D is awesome if you just have 1 Alignment and everything will go fine, but what about JUNCTIONS !?

 

Images attached to show the FAILURE !

 

My System Info
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model HP Z800 Workstation
Total amount of system memory 24.0 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 6

My Graphic Card Info
Display adapter type NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Total available graphics memory 13047 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 12023 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.2078
Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080
Secondary monitor resolution 1920x1080
DirectX version DirectX 10
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 11 (212 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 11:34 AM in reply to: BenzyMH
I guess what you are hoping for is 4 matchlines for a junction overlap?

I would try to make a vfg for the mainline and adjust the vf to cover the junction completely (like you would if you were doing by hand) then I'd make a vfg for each side of the junction, add them all to the same SS and if I had to add a see sheet note I'd add it manually via SSM.

If you cannot move a vf along the alignment go back in the wizard and adjust the settings
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 7 of 11 (203 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 12:41 PM in reply to: BenzyMH

If you're creating Plan only view frames then you can turn off all of the match lines.  Unfortunately you'll have to live with overlap in your sheets, but this may be acceptable.

 

Clipboard01.png

Active Member
BenzyMH
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2007
Message 8 of 11 (196 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 01:03 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

That is a good option, which i tried, but i will end up (according to the scale required b ythe Client 1:500) that the last cutsheet on one of the arms is half a cutsheet !

its terrible!

But thanks for your input Joseph D. Bouza

My System Info
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model HP Z800 Workstation
Total amount of system memory 24.0 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 6

My Graphic Card Info
Display adapter type NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Total available graphics memory 13047 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 12023 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.2078
Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080
Secondary monitor resolution 1920x1080
DirectX version DirectX 10
Active Member
BenzyMH
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-23-2007
Message 9 of 11 (195 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 01:05 PM in reply to: sboon

I can try this option Sboon !

and see what you mean by the overlap, because i can manually add on each cutsheet on the layout tab, a Wipeout to hide the overlap and repeated parts ! but thats a hell of a work, 40 Cutsheets !

My System Info
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model HP Z800 Workstation
Total amount of system memory 24.0 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 6

My Graphic Card Info
Display adapter type NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Total available graphics memory 13047 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 12023 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.2078
Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080
Secondary monitor resolution 1920x1080
DirectX version DirectX 10
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,067
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 11 (188 Views)

Re: Production Tools (Several Alignments)

11-02-2013 01:14 PM in reply to: BenzyMH

Don't use a wipeout.  Once the view frames are created draw lines across the alignment at the locations where you want to have match lines.  Make sure that the viewport in your plan template is polygonal, not just a simple rectangle.  Once the sheets are created you can go through them and grip edit the viewport corners so that they snap to the endpoints of the fake matchlines that you drew earlier.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs