AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
PTtechnologies
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2012
Message 1 of 6 (320 Views)

Processor Requirements?

320 Views, 5 Replies
12-05-2012 02:12 PM

The system requirements for AutoCAD Civil 3D list the required processor as needing SSE2 Technology. All the current generation processors list SSE4. Is this the technology needed or do I have to find something that specifically lists SSE2?

 

And are there any current mobile processors that support SSE#?

Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 2 of 6 (298 Views)

Re: Processor Requirements?

12-05-2012 03:54 PM in reply to: PTtechnologies

The processors have been doing this since about 2003 (I think). It's AutoCAD thats catching up here. Nothing to worry about.

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 812
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 3 of 6 (294 Views)

Re: Processor Requirements?

12-05-2012 04:07 PM in reply to: HansSMS

any 2 to 3 generation i3, i5 are the best for civil 3d.

high frequency is key.

Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
New Member
PTtechnologies
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2012
Message 4 of 6 (268 Views)

Re: Processor Requirements?

12-06-2012 07:53 AM in reply to: wang890

None of the 2nd or 3rd Generation Mobile Core i3, i5, i7s list that they support SSE. Our customer is wanting to use laptops. What would be the best Mobile processor to use since none appear to support this?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,603
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 6 (243 Views)

Re: Processor Requirements?

12-07-2012 01:36 AM in reply to: PTtechnologies

PTtechnologies wrote:

What would be the best Mobile processor to use since none appear to support this?


http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18844534&siteID=123112

Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 6 of 6 (206 Views)

Re: Processor Requirements?

12-10-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: PTtechnologies

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SSE2#CPUs_supporting_SSE2

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs