AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 1 of 11 (552 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the background

552 Views, 10 Replies
04-12-2012 12:34 AM

Hi @ all,

 

first off all, sorry for my english, it isn't the best. :smileywink:

 

Now my problem:

 

When I'll print or plot a .dwg file out of Civil 3d 2009 and 2010, with big images in the background, only the foreground will be printed, the background is not printing or only some parts. The error message is: "Try to cancel the sheet XYZ" (Plot progress). See in the attachments for the creeshot (but it is in german :smileyhappy:)

When I use smaller tifs in the background, all is fine.

 

I still work on XP so I think it's a problem with the main memory, because the RAM is to small for so big files.

 

Can anyone help me or confirm my assumption?

 

Thanks for your help

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,499
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 11 (550 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 12:49 AM in reply to: dechecker

What about plotting to a .PDF or .DWF file..?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,592
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 11 (546 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 01:00 AM in reply to: dechecker

Hi,

 

besides the option to go via DWF as mentioned by antoniovinci (what I also would prefere) you also have the option to reduce the output-quality in the plotter-properties-dialog:

 

2012-04-12 09-54-37.png

 

That helps to reduce the amount of memory used during plot.

 

 

-alfred -

 

PS: Dein Englisch ist definitiv besser als meins :smileywink:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 4 of 11 (542 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 01:12 AM in reply to: dechecker

when I print to pdf, there is the same problem. Also I try other printer, the same. 

Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 5 of 11 (539 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 01:15 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I already know the "lower-quality-solution", but I need the quality.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,592
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 11 (538 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 01:16 AM in reply to: dechecker

Hi,

 

>> when I print to pdf, there is the same problem

Not PDF, use DWF! It needs less resources.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 7 of 11 (532 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 01:22 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

ok, I'll try it.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,499
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 11 (518 Views)

Overlaying vector on raster

04-12-2012 03:17 AM in reply to: dechecker

There's another technique, dramatically fast, but you need Adobe Acrobat.

 

1] instead of printing the huge imagery AND the vectors, only plot the vector features to a PDF file

2] open the imagery in Acrobat (I use release 10, I hope it works with older ones too)

3] import the vector PDF as an overlay

4] save all as a new PDF complete (raster+vector) 

 

Here's what I'm talking about: http://novara.orangespace.pl/civil3d/overlay.zip

Valued Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎11-02-2009
Message 9 of 11 (504 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-12-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: dechecker

Convert the TIFF files to JPEG format.  This will reduce the image size, and the amount of data being sent to the plotter. 

Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 10 of 11 (471 Views)

Re: Problems with print/plot with big (each > 70 MB) TIF files in the backgro

04-18-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: DMFACER

Hi,

 

The preblem is the same with jpg, but I now I plotted the file to DWF, then I opend it with the Autodesk DWF Viewer. With the DWF Viewer I can print without any problems. :smileyhappy:

 

So, thanks for all your Idears.

 

-dechecker-

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs