AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Jepps
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 1 of 6 (379 Views)

Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

379 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2013 12:07 PM

Are there any particularly logical reasons this setting is included with Pipe Networks, but not Pressure Pipe Networks? 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

01-28-2013 12:14 PM in reply to: Jepps

Jepps wrote:

Are there any particularly logical reasons this setting is included with Pipe Networks, but not Pressure Pipe Networks? 



A possible answer:Because that feature had not been added by the cutoff date for the Civil 3D development team to have their 2013 version ready for customer shipment. Autodesk works on deadlines, so sometimes new features, like Pressure Pipes, are released in stages. I expect to see new functionality included with Civil 3D 2014. Whether this specific issue is answered, who knows...

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
Jepps
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 3 of 6 (367 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

01-28-2013 01:21 PM in reply to: Jepps

As with most here, I can certainly relate to the subject of deadlines and not quite being there.  But, you read other related posts (i.e. No Swap Parts command, Missing Pipe Materials, extremely limited appurtenance catalogue, etc...) and it seems use of this feature isn't even remotely close to practical at this point in time.

 

It appears there's even a workaround just to get C3D to recognize and correctly assign the nominal diameter of the pipe to a notation.  The default "Nominal Diameter Description" for a 10" diameter round DIP pipe is "10 in x 10 in" (What does that mean?), and as far as I can tell, it doesn't assign a "Diameter Inside" to use in a label style, either.

 

I know this sounds like sour grapes, but honestly I am as solid a proponent of Civil3D as anyone.  With that said, this is the epitome of bad that comes with the good when it comes to Autodesk and Civil 3D.  As much as I want to use this tool, the time spent setting up styles that'll become obsolete when content is added, and working around the clumsiness of the current release doesn't seem justified.

 

My biggest issue isn't that it won't be a useful tool, it's why it was released when it's obviously so far away from completion.  I probably wouldn't have wasted the effort of this rant, if this felt like an isolated incident, but stuff like this has been an ongoing frustration.

 

Well, I feel a little better not that I've gotten that out of my system.  Hopefully, it's not a completely meaningless 2 cents rant.

 

Thanks,

 

Eric

Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 4 of 6 (319 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

01-31-2013 06:19 AM in reply to: Jepps

Hi Eric-

 

I can understand your frustration, and as Tim said above, there are features not found with pressure pipes that are found in other Civil Objects such as data shortcuts, swap parts, etc. I would highly suggest you make your thoughts known by following this link: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794 Your comments will go to Product Management.

 

As for a limited stock catalog, please see this thread for more information: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Pressure-Pipe-How-do-I-create-new-fittings-and-add-it... 

 

Hope this helps!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Member
RizalIskandarsjach4797
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
Message 5 of 6 (191 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

07-18-2013 10:31 AM in reply to: Jepps
I can't agree with you more! Further more it seems that Autodesk and their staff really don't care what the end users thinks. We'll get fired if we don't get the job done, they just push it to the next release. We need real competition for Autodesk to put them in shape... that's my rant!
Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 6 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes - "Use Size Name From Parts List As Description"

07-18-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: RizalIskandarsjach4797

This is why I do not care for the whole subscription model. It forces Autodesk to release a new version every April, whether they're ready or not. Of course, they have to make sure there are enough new bells and whistles in each release to justify the price we're paying for subscription, even if we just get a bell and no whistle. Honestly, they should scrap subscription and the yearly releases and just release new versions when they're actually ready for prime time, with the upgrade price based on how recent of a version you're upgrading from.

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs