AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
econnerly
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 1 of 4 (236 Views)

Possible to edit feature line via "section"?

236 Views, 3 Replies
10-22-2012 08:15 PM

I apologize in advanced as I am running of a few hours of sleep. I have a complex grading situation with a sewer near a drainage channel. Long story short.... I need to somehow look at my alignment section by section and try to establish a feature line that will represent my proposed top of slope. There are a ton of different constraints that I will not go into. My ultimate need is the ability to establish a feature line or 3d pline from the section view. I know that this is somehow possible via cooridors. Im working with just an aligment and cross secitons at every 25 feet. Is this possible? Maybe a "project objects to sections" only backwards?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,084
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 4 (232 Views)

Re: Possible to edit feature line via "section"?

10-22-2012 08:45 PM in reply to: econnerly

You have two options which may work.  If you have a sample line group and section views then you can project your featureline to the sections and see it there.  I believe that you can edit the elevations through the section views, but you cannot move the points horizontally, so you would have to use two viewports to do the editing - one showing it in plan and the other showing the sections.

 

The other method would be to use the corridor section view/editor to do it.  You would need a dummy corridor to follow but you should be able to grip edit the featureline at any point where the editor can see it.  Keep in mind that you can only do edits at stations where the grip points are visible however.  There was an AU class several years ago where Peter Funk used this method to create a featureline.  He opened the view editor then started drawing a featureline, advancing from one station to the next as he drew it.

Contributor
econnerly
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Message 3 of 4 (229 Views)

Re: Possible to edit feature line via "section"?

10-22-2012 09:19 PM in reply to: sboon
That would be awesome if I could edit the "projected " lines elevations.  They I could edit my horizontal position in another viewport just like you suggested. I hope it works. Ill give it a try tomorrow. Thanks.  Maybe I can sleep now.  
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,745
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 4 (213 Views)

Re: Possible to edit feature line via "section"?

10-23-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: econnerly
Once projected, feature line elevations can be edited in profile views as well, if this suits your workflow better.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.