AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
dnherb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Message 1 of 7 (814 Views)

Pond Cross Section

814 Views, 6 Replies
10-19-2011 05:40 AM

I was interested in knowing how you all handle creating a cross sectioning of a proposed detention pond. Thanks. Is it worth creating an alignment and using section lines?

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (818 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 06:12 AM in reply to: dnherb

It is worth it for me when I have a number of surfaces to show with pipes, water surfaces and perhaps floor elevations. I use an alignment and a profile view that is set up to appear as a cross section. The alignment has labeling to make it look like a section line in plan as well. I use surface profiles and add linework as I need. I toggle the profile from dynamic to static when I am done to prevent the profile view from reacting to revisons if required. We also have a bunch of profile view and note labels set up to label the 'section'. I also use surfaces to depict water levels and floor elevations. Set the alignment ref point to the midpoint of the alignment to get station zero situated. See the attached for examples.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 7 (793 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 08:30 AM in reply to: dnherb
Is it worth it? What other options are you considering?
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Member
dnherb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Message 4 of 7 (765 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 11:21 AM in reply to: mathewk

Well I was in somewhat of a rush and decided created quick profiles, exported the drawing as an ACAD file and utilized the line work that way.  Outside of that I received a suggestion to just use the line command and draw it in.  Deep in my heart I know there was a better way and that’s what led me here. I would like for the cross section to be dynamic considering the amount of times our pond sizes change. Could someone tell me further details about the labeling? What type of labels styles are available if any at all. Thanks again.

Active Member
dnherb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Message 5 of 7 (764 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 11:30 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks John, your pictures are hard to make out.  Can I trouble you to enlarge them?  Another question, is your Rip–Rap dynamic, I take it you added the line work and hatch it.  Also your text, is it just plain mtext or a note style. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 7 (764 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 11:34 AM in reply to: dnherb

You seem not to have any useful alternative, which is why I asked.  Hand-drawn, YIKES.  Quick Profile is no good.

 

Alignment/Profile/Sanmple ines are your only solution.  There are various labeling options depending on what you need.  Very likely there will be some static AutoCAD text, hatch, etc in there.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (742 Views)

Re: Pond Cross Section

10-19-2011 01:01 PM in reply to: dnherb

I'm a bit busy but here is one.

 

Rip rap and walls are blocks in this one. They can easily be taken out of the thick datum line with various modeling techniques. Some text labels, dims & C3D labels.

 

profile view labels for wall elv's, WS. I aslo have them for floor elevations.

profile labels for the slope labels, note labels with ref txt for profile name.

 

I type ADDLABELS & leave the dialog open until everything is labeled.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs