AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
elaine3051
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-19-2007
Message 1 of 5 (174 Views)
Accepted Solution

Points set on Surface

174 Views, 4 Replies
02-07-2014 11:41 AM

I need to set a numbe rof points on an existing surface. Each point is giving me an elevation of 0.0 which of course is not the surface elevation. I'm sure this is a setting, but cannot find where the default setting is located. Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,432
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 5 (170 Views)

Re: Points set on Surface

02-07-2014 12:02 PM in reply to: elaine3051

CreatePtOnSurface.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,194
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 5 (140 Views)

Re: Points set on Surface

02-07-2014 02:26 PM in reply to: elaine3051

Is Points Creation>Prompt for Elevations set to "Automatic"?

 

Surface Points.JPG

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,758
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (133 Views)

Re: Points set on Surface

02-07-2014 02:39 PM in reply to: elaine3051

You can also assign elevations to the points after creation from the Modify tab of the Ribbon click the Point button. When the Contextual Points Ribbon displays you will see a button for Elevations from Surface.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,758
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (132 Views)

Re: Points set on Surface

02-07-2014 02:41 PM in reply to: jmayo

When I set manual points I will typically create one point, copy it all over the place and then use that comand to save time on the command line.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs