AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 1 of 12 (201 Views)

Point Problems

201 Views, 11 Replies
10-17-2012 10:45 AM

Hi,

 

I am hoping someone can help me. I have a surface imported from datadoors (an .asc file added to a surface as a DEM file). I set the drawing settings and the file settings to the correct coordinate system. The surface imported correctly.

 

I need to add some survey data to this file (survey data was taken by a land surveyor). I import the .txt file and the files plot completely out of scale and they do not plot in the correct place. HELP! I have searched forums, blogs, everywhere. What am I doing wrong?

 

I have attached two images so you can see what I am talking about.

 

Thanks for any advice in advance!

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 12 (195 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Have you tried using a different point file format?  Sometimes the ASCII file can be PENZD instead of PNEZD.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 3 of 12 (194 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: TRogers
I did try that, it didn't help :/ Sent from my iPhone
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 12 (184 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88
Are you sure the survey work was done in a coordinate system or did they use an arbitrary system (5000, 5000)?
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,617
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 12 (176 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Did the Survey points just plot out of place or where they truly out of scale? If they were out of scale that may mean that the surface is in metric and the points are in imperial of visa-versa.

 

Allen

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 6 of 12 (173 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

They were out of place and out of scale. The plotted points were bigger than my entire surface.
 

If this is the case, how would I go about converting the point data into US feet (the drawing is already in US feet?) The survey company is ZERO help.

 

Thanks!

 

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Message 7 of 12 (157 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: sjg

Here is an example of a few of the point files that were given to me...

 

1000,-36.224,11920.057,12314.243,TOP PIPE END
1001,119.398,11880.410,12316.470,TOP PIPE END
1002,194.214,11859.853,12311.749,TOP PIPE
1003,230.860,11848.459,12310.418,TOP PIPE
1004,270.701,11832.433,12308.848,TOP PIPE

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 12 (155 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Isn't that Lat and Long coordinates?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,970
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 9 of 12 (153 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:58 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Or possibly PZNED?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 12 (151 Views)

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

HaHa, good catch Jeff!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs