AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
darrell.wilmore
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-23-2006
Message 1 of 8 (164 Views)
Accepted Solution

Point Labels on Breaklines

164 Views, 7 Replies
03-20-2014 08:31 AM

When I import a survey with coded breaklines I get a vertex markers along the breakline but no annotation of these points appears on the screen.

How can I get these labels to show up upon import?

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 8 (155 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 09:17 AM in reply to: darrell.wilmore

darrell.wilmore wrote:

When I import a survey with coded breaklines I get a vertex markers along the breakline but no annotation of these points appears on the screen.

How can I get these labels to show up upon import?


What do you mean by "show up"?  Are you wanting to have cogo points at these locations?

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Contributor
darrell.wilmore
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-23-2006
Message 3 of 8 (152 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 09:23 AM in reply to: doni49

I would like the vertices on the breaklines to appear like the the rest of the points in the file (coded points such as n/g, etc.)

These are breaklines shot in the field with codes present in the feature prefix database.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 4 of 8 (139 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 10:31 AM in reply to: darrell.wilmore

It sounds to me like you need to adjust the order of your point groups.  If a point falls in multiple groups (very common) then the first group in the list controls how it's displayed (or NOT displayed).  See the following screenshot.  The point group labeled "No Display" is set to not show points and it includes ALL points.

 

Because it's first in the list, I won't see ANY points.  But if I were to move "Ground" up above that group, then any points within the Ground group would be shown.

 

PtGroupNoDisplay.png

 

EDIT:  I forgot to mention this -- to change the order of the groups, you need to goto Toolspace>Prospector and right click on "Point Groups" then click on "Properties.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Contributor
darrell.wilmore
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-23-2006
Message 5 of 8 (128 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 11:23 AM in reply to: doni49

Don-

 

The breaklines were shot with the ng shots in one point group. This group is at the top of the list. <Off> is at the bottom of the list.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 6 of 8 (123 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 11:37 AM in reply to: darrell.wilmore

Ok.  Next thing to look at is the display settings for that group. 

 

Toolspace>Propsecter>Expand Point Groups>{RIght click on the group}>Properties

 

Look at both "Point Style" and "Point Label Style".  The first one is the tick mark or other symbol for the actual point and the second one is for the text that describes it.

 

What style is assigned?  Now edit the style (click the button next to the style name) and go to the display tab.

 

There'll be a number of "Components" listed.  There is a "Visible" column with a light bulb:  Yellow = on and gray = off.  Are they on as you need them?  What layer(s) are they on?  (if the component visilbility is set properly, then after getting out of here, you'll need to check the layer(s) on/off status.

 

Also before closing the properties:  check the "Marker" tab.  Is the point set to display a BLOCK?  If so, could the elements within that block be on layers that are frozen and/or off?

 

 

 

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,399
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 7 of 8 (119 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 11:43 AM in reply to: doni49

One more thing to check.

 

Individual points can be set to override the point group's style settings.

 

PtDisplay.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Contributor
darrell.wilmore
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-23-2006
Message 8 of 8 (113 Views)

Re: Point Labels on Breaklines

03-20-2014 12:37 PM in reply to: doni49

Thanks Don-

 

The display for the point label was not turned on.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs