Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Point Groups and Layers

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
EJMartinez
3704 Views, 13 Replies

Point Groups and Layers

I'm a Newbie with AutoCAD. Right now im creating a drawing and I was told to get all the points with the same description onto a new Point Group. Well i have done that and my next question is how to get that point group onto a seperate layer/new layer, so that when I'm working with all the other points, I can just turn off that point group so it wont be too crwded. Steps on how to do it will be appreciated. thanx

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
EJMartinez
in reply to: EJMartinez

It would also be great to link me a similar discussion about this.

Message 3 of 14
troma

Welcome to the Forums!

You can override the display of points in the point group. Set the styles on the Information tab, and check the boxes on the Overrides tab.

I find Google a much better way of searching for old posts than the internal search. For example:
https://www.google.ca/search?q=turn+off+that+point+group+site%3Aforums.autodesk.com&rlz=1C1GGGE_enCA...

Mark Green

Working on Civil 3D in Canada

Message 4 of 14
neilyj666

As a general note, Civil 3D is based on Styles and it is these that control when Layers are turned on and off rather than via the standard Layer Properties.

Always make sure you start from the correct Civil template as well

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz