AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 1 of 7 (452 Views)

Point Group

452 Views, 6 Replies
06-03-2010 09:07 AM
I have a point group which I exclude points from but they reappear and I'm not certain why. I have two point groups, one which contains all the points and has the point style and label style set to none so the points won't display, the other is suppose to display all but the excluded points. The drawing displays the points appearance correctly until I've closed it for the night then re-open the next day. The excluded points then appear in the drawing, The excluded point numbers are on the "with numbers matching" in the Point Group Properties as they are added, but are not the next day. I have opened and close the file throughout the day without issues. All my other edits appear correctly in the drawing. Any thoughts or suggestions?
Civil 3D, 2009
Win 7 Enterprise 64bit
8 GB
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-03-2010 09:12 AM in reply to: rwatson654
look for an assign point style and point label style in the individual points. set them to none so that the point groups will define the look and feel.

Dan
Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 3 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-03-2010 09:27 AM in reply to: rwatson654
thx for the replay. the points that are displaying which should not be have lable & point style set to none.
Distinguished Contributor
ACADuser
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎12-22-2003
Message 4 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-03-2010 09:58 AM in reply to: rwatson654
Have you checked to determine if the point style and or label style has not been overridden ? Does a regen fix the issue ?
ACADuser
Dell Precision T5500 Workstation
Windows XP Professional SP3
Dual Quad Core Intel Xeon Processors E5540 2.53GHz,8M L3,5.8GT/s,turbo
4GB, DDR3 Memory, 1066MHz, ECC (4 DIMMS)
1.5GB NVIDIA Quadro FX 4800, DUAL MON, 2DP & 1DVI
160GB, 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Data Burst Cache,SATA2,10K RPM Hard Drive
16XDVD AND 16XDVD+/-RW
Mentor
rwatson654
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 5 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-03-2010 11:56 AM in reply to: rwatson654
point style and label style have not been overridden. a regen does not fix the issue. the strange thing is this only happens overnight, when no one should be accessing the file. I can open, exclude & edit the fie, close & reopen the same day without issues.
Distinguished Contributor
omc-usnr
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎04-25-2007
Message 6 of 7 (427 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-06-2010 09:17 AM in reply to: rwatson654

Check to see what the order of the point groups are.  IIRC, this can affect the way objects are displayed.  Since this happens after you have shut down, I'm thinking that when you reopen, the group order resets itself and shows the points you want to hide.

 

Reid

Distinguished Contributor
bruce.jordan
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎05-12-2005
Message 7 of 7 (393 Views)

Re: Point Group

06-07-2010 06:25 AM in reply to: rwatson654

rwatson654 -

 

In your point group, are you also including points (anything set in the include tab).  What could be happening is you are including all points, and then excluding certain point numbers.  This causes a conflict and excluded points will reappear.

 

If you want to include all points, but exclude certain point numbers, clear all settings on the include tab, and then exclude point numbers on the exclude tab.

 

-Bruce

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs