AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 11 (401 Views)
Accepted Solution

Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

401 Views, 10 Replies
03-01-2013 01:11 PM

Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

 

This is the second time I’m highlighting this issue. I couldn’t figure out how to print a drawing (attached) from the lay out. What I got is a very crowded drawing as shown in the screenshots below.

Clip_184.jpg

 

 

Clip_185.jpg

 

Clip_186.jpg

 

I wanted to print my drawings (contour, horizontal alignment, vertical alignment, etc.) in an A4 with a scale of 1/1000 or 1/1300. Then what should be:

 

  1. The annotation scale?

 

  1. The viewport scale?

 

  1. The plot scale?

 

What did I get very crowded drawing when I tried to print from the lay out?

 

Thank you

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 11 (390 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-01-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Typically, you plot a layout tab at 1:1 and then assign the scale through the viewport/annotation scale that you have circled in your second image. Your labels are created so they plot at a specific height. For example, in an imperial drawing, a common label height is 0.1". If you are plotting a large area and you don't want to see all the labels, freeze the labels you don't want to see within the viewport.

 

The scale you assign the drawing in the model tab has absolutely nothing to do with how your drawing plots from paper space.

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 11 (373 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-01-2013 03:06 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thank you BrianHailey for the help,

 

Plotting these drawings from the model space is perfect. Everything is drawn as it is expected. All what I needed to do is to set

 

  1. The annotation scale to be 1:500

 Clip_191.jpg

 

 

  1. The plot scale to be 1:1 (to get a scale of 1/1000)

 Clip_192.jpg

 

 

 

  1. Then I got perfect drawings

 Clip_193.jpg

 

Clip_194.jpg

 

 

Clip_195.jpg

 

 

  1. Now at which viewport am I expected to get the same ones printed from the model space (as shown in the previous screenshots) when printing from the lay out? I do still need the labels to appear on the drawing exactly the same way they appear on the printed drawings from the model space.

 

 Clip_196.jpg

 

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,476
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 11 (352 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 02:00 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060
you always need to Regen the drawing when using viewports and as advised previously on several occasions the label height is in mm and so will always plot at 2 mm say whatever plot scale is.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,614
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 11 (332 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 11:31 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Click on the viewport to select it. Bring up the properties box. Select the proper scale from the standard scales  This is what will control the layout scale, then plot 1:1.

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 6 of 11 (320 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 01:05 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thank you guys for the help,

 

  • This is exactly neilyj what I need to achieve! I need all the labels to be printed with a height of 2mm irrespective to the scale of printing. Then why I got crowded labels as the scale changes? Are the scales supposed to be adjusted automatically (attached)?

 

 

  • I tired the valuable approach that you have provided Allen. Unfortunately, I do still have the crowded lables (attached)!

 

What might be the issue here!

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,956
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 11 (313 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 01:51 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Do not look at the Annotation scale for the Viewport. Look at the Viewscale of the Viewport, THIS is what controls the size of C3D labels.

Clip_204.png

 

 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,284
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 8 of 11 (307 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

 

 

Thank you Jeff for the help,

 

This really very frustrating! Is it complicated to this degree just to print my drawings of C3D in the lay out

 

  1. My drawing looks fine in the model space and is printed correctly from the model space

 

 Clip_215.jpg

 

 

Clip_214.jpg

 

  1. The issue is when printing from the lay out! I’m not sure about the best combination of plot scale, annotation scale & viewport scale that generates nice drawing (the as the one I got as I print from the model space) with not label overlaps. My dwg file attached in my first post of this thread.

 

 

 Clip_212.jpg

 

 Clip_213.jpg

 

Best

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,614
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 11 (304 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 02:36 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

I don't have access to C3D right now. I'll see what I can do when I can.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,471
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 11 (302 Views)

Re: Plotting a drawing from layout produces crowded labels,

03-02-2013 02:42 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi Jamal,

 

it's just one command you are missing in layouts, that is _REGENALL.

Every time you change the zoom-factor in the viewport of a layout (so it's the scale you are changing), do a _REGENALL to let Civil update all scale-dependend objects to the current viewport-scale on the layout.

 

It's nothing else then that.

 

[EDIT]:

Try these steps: Zoom to this table you have (in the viewport ==> then _REGENALL, next zoom more close to the table, again _REGENALL, repeat these steps as often as you like (at least as often so no other object like the surface is visible in that viewport) ... you will see that after every _REGENALL the table recalculates it's size so it is correct in repation to the papersize (of this layout)

[/EDIT]

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs