AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ma702tt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-31-2007
Message 1 of 7 (163 Views)

Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

163 Views, 6 Replies
03-29-2013 08:38 AM

Experts,

 

I am using 2010 still but just found out I have the ability to update to 2011 only and am wondering if it is worth it or not?

 

The main issue I am having is Grading seems very glitchy.  Does anyone know if this is indeed a problem with 2010 or am I just a poor operator.  It seems to constantly generate errors found with Audit and crashes with what seems very simple operations.

 

Should I upgrade to 2011?  Is there anything to be done to avoid the Grading issues.

 

Thanks so much. 

 

Matt

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 7 (142 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: ma702tt

A search on the topic will tell you that some say it's better and some say it's not. This applies in versions all the way up to 2013.

 

FWIW, it still corrupts too easily for me to say it's reliable and performance is still an issue.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Contributor
ma702tt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-31-2007
Message 3 of 7 (137 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 10:06 AM in reply to: Neilw

Thanks Neil.  It seems like there are certian things that make it crash though it is hard to figure out the common denominator between them. 

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 10:16 AM in reply to: ma702tt

I don't know if you can pin it on any one action or function since the issues vary. I believe part of it is caused by the Site topology interactions, part is the cleanup alogorythms when gradings intersect, part is the amount of resources used and more.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,310
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 7 (126 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: ma702tt

2011?  Are you aware that 2014 is about to come out?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 7 (107 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: ma702tt

They seem to behave better if Automatic Surface Creation isn't invoked - some people advocate exploding gradings as well.

 

I've never tried interacting gradings in the same site as this just cries out disaster to me based on experience with gradings.

 

I'd say that gradings, while great when they work, are still a weak link in Civil 3D and casue most of my crashing problems.

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
ma702tt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-31-2007
Message 7 of 7 (99 Views)

Re: Please Help: C3D 2010 Grading is Glitchey?

03-29-2013 01:05 PM in reply to: TRogers

thanks, I meant that I could upgrade to 2011 under my current agreement without paying additional $'s.

 

Thanks,

 

Matt

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.