Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plan/Profile viewports question

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
smiandys
169 Views, 5 Replies

Plan/Profile viewports question

I've figured out the Sheet Set Manager. I've figured out the Map Book functions. I've been using the Sheet Manager to create PNP's for 6 years, and after spending time getting used to Civil3d I've run into a problem with my Plan Viewports while creating sheets without my trusty ol' Sheet Manager. Currently I have a road alignment running south to north. With the Sheet Manager I never had to think about the viewport orientations - they were automatically aligned. How can I rotate a view in paper space, on a sheet, so that my alignment is running left to right when I print? A Map Book layout that I've created worked perfectly except that the road in the plan view is oriented N-S, not W-E as I'd like.
This isn't something that I've seen others run into, so I assume that the answer is something fundamental but forgotten. Any direct answers, direction to a help file, etc. would be appreciated. Thanks.
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
smiandys
in reply to: smiandys

And I, of course, mean left to right, not W-E.
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous

drew11

if i understand correctly...try this:
1. make sure vp is unlocked,
2. double click inside vp,
3. type 'ucsfollow' set to '1'
(0 - UCS does not affect the view, 1 - Any UCS change causes a change to the plan view of the new UCS in the current viewport)
4. type 'ucs' (enter), then 'n' for new (enter), then 'z' to rotate about the z-axis (enter),
4a. select points along a line in a positive direction for the way you want the view displayed. in your case, i believe you will select the first point on the right and the second point on the left.