AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,145
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 1 of 5 (432 Views)
Accepted Solution

Placed Lined Material not showing up through Ditch Bottom

432 Views, 4 Replies
02-14-2013 02:24 PM

I'm using the DaylightBasin Subassembly along with the "Place Lined Material" option & it works everywhere except

along the flat 0% (very bottom portion of the ditch).

Does anyone have any workarounds for this or ideas on how to fix it?

 

Please see attached captions.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Jay

 

2012 C3D SP2.1

Win 7

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (405 Views)

Re: Placed Lined Material not showing up through Ditch Bottom

02-14-2013 09:54 PM in reply to: Jay_B

From the help file.


Like other daylight subassemblies, this subassembly optionally lets you add a lined material. You can specify three ranges of slopes. Material type 1 is applied if the slope of the links is up to the specified slope value. From slope 1 to slope 2, the second type of material applied. Similarly, if the slopes of links fall within slope 2 and slope 3 values, then material 3 is applied. If the link slopes are flatter than slope limit 3, then no material is applied.

 Change the limit for material 3 to Horizontal and see if that works for you.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,145
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 5 (389 Views)

Re: Placed Lined Material not showing up through Ditch Bottom

02-15-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: sboon

sboon,

 

Thanks for the reply & suggestion. I changed the Slope Limit for material 3 to horizontal & rebuilt corridor & same result.

Attached an updated caption with the "parameters" box in SE open.

 

I appreciate the help.

 

Jay

 

2012 C3D SP2.1

Win 7

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 5 (379 Views)

Re: Placed Lined Material not showing up through Ditch Bottom

02-15-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: Jay_B

It looks like there is a programming error in the DaylightBasin sub.  I tried it also with the same result as yours, then I tried it with DaylightGeneral which has the same capabilities for adding a lined material.  That sub works exactly as expected.

 

I tried replacing DaylightBasin with DaylightBasin2 and discovered that it has a 4th material - not documented in the Help file.  This fourth lining material apparently works for horizontal slopes.

 

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,145
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 5 of 5 (343 Views)

Re: Placed Lined Material not showing up through Ditch Bottom

02-18-2013 05:22 AM in reply to: sboon

Steve,

 

I tried your recommendation of using the 4th material option in the DaylightBasin2 subbassembly & it works like a champ.

Attached is the resulting assembly showing the Place Lined Material in ditch bottom.

 

Hopefully AutoDesk can update this in a future SP or future release of the software.

 

Thanks for all of your help with this issue as I really appreciate it!

 

 

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs