AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
mrrgoncalves
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 1 of 9 (292 Views)

Pipe style in profile

292 Views, 8 Replies
03-02-2013 10:39 AM

Trying to make some changes to improve reading.

The pipes are going to center of structure and would like to change the appearance but maintain the lenght to the center or in last case to the structure wall.  

 

The image explains the 'problem'. Red line should be the correct appearence

 

There is a way to correct the position?

 

Thank you


Best regards,

Mário Gonçalves
C3D2011
MAP3D2011
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-02-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: mrrgoncalves

does your style show the outside wall?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
mrrgoncalves
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 3 of 9 (264 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-02-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Yes, the style shows the outside wall, is the unique line visible in pipe profile style. 


Best regards,

Mário Gonçalves
C3D2011
MAP3D2011
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,268
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 4 of 9 (236 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-02-2013 02:52 PM in reply to: mrrgoncalves

We show our Pipes to outside walls in the Pipe Style too.

 

It looks like your structure "Floor Thickness"  may be set to 0 or close to it.

 

If the "Floor Thickness" is displayed the Red Lines you show should be fixed.

 

Structure properties_Part Properties Tab_slab thickness to check this setting.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 9 (164 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-04-2013 06:25 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Jay,

How thick do you have to make the floor for this to work?

 

My problem is that we need to draw the inside of the structure, not the outside.  So far our solution is to have very thin walls and floor; but obviously this leads to the problem with the pipes attaching to the centre instead of the walls.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,268
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 9 (162 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-04-2013 06:31 AM in reply to: troma

Ours are set to 0.67 or 1 Imperial units. (see attached).

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 9 (156 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-04-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: Jay_B

I guess it's 3.011x10^23 of one or half a mole of the other.

 

We can't show sumps like that in profile view.  In the past we've put wipeouts on all our manholes for this.  It's either that or trace over everything with plain old lines, and turn off the style of pipes & profiles.  We can't win really; until we get the ability to draw the inside walls of structures and turn of the outside wall.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,268
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 8 of 9 (154 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-04-2013 06:54 AM in reply to: troma

When we first switched to C3D we had a lot of comments regarding the floor thickness being shown. Once we got used to seeing it it wasn't a big of a deal. (my standard for answer is it's representing everyhing in 3d)

 

I've been using the Wipeout / Masking technique for the "Aprons" or "Outlet" structures.

Hopefully these will become better to work with in the future.

End up drawing aprons manually because they never look desireable in profile.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Contributor
mrrgoncalves
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
Message 9 of 9 (151 Views)

Re: Pipe style in profile

03-04-2013 06:58 AM in reply to: Jay_B

so, you have the same 'problem', though it was exclusive from my style.

Jay if you drawq the interior lines the result will be aproximally the same with floor thickness ou sump drop, whats the bennefit?


Best regards,

Mário Gonçalves
C3D2011
MAP3D2011
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.