AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 1 of 9 (245 Views)

Pipe-profile fatal error...

245 Views, 8 Replies
02-27-2012 12:15 PM

Just starting to use C3D 2012. When I Create Profile from Surface, under Pipe Network Display, I usually select the parts I want to appear in the profile view and then select Create Profile View. This allows me to select the necessary parts using the Series option.

 

Nonetheless, in 2012, however I select the pipes I want displayed (entire network, series, or individually) I get a FATAL ERROR.  If I create the profille view first, then select the parts and draw them in the PV, no problem. Anyone else come across this?

Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,262
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 2 of 9 (231 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

02-27-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: castled071049

I didn't get that far in 2012 before I got the fatal error.

 

I tried to create a simple pipe network of 5 structures & 4 pipes.

 

Set network structure to manholes.  Realized I didn't have the correct pipe size in library.  Added part size.  Didn't show up in the create drop down.

 

Told it to draw structures & pipes.  It only drew structures.

 

Went to edit network. New pipe size now available.

 

Added pipes to network.

 

Connected graphically to first manhole, but no invert listed.

 

Wondered why all the pipes were over 10 feet deep on the rest of the structures.

 

Tried to edit structure properties on first MH - Fatal error.  XP computer 2012 SP1.

 

3d having problems with networks in 2012?

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 3 of 9 (215 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

02-28-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: castled071049

@castled071049 - first thing to do would be to install Update 1 for Civil 3D 2012, if you haven't already.

 

If the problem continues to occur even after applying Update 1, send in a crash report when this happens with your email address, and let me know that email address; I can look up the crash report. 

 

Thanks.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 4 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

02-28-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: annw2

@annw2 - the problem you are running into seems unrelated to the OP's.  If you could start a new thread and also send in a CER, I will follow-up in the new thread.  Thanks.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,262
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 5 of 9 (208 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

02-28-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: castled071049

Thank you.

 

It will be a few days before I get back to the project

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 6 of 9 (191 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

02-29-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: hgohel

Himanshu: I just forced a FATAL ERROR in a test file by trying to select pipes to include in a Create Surface Profile process, as describe in my original post. My email address is gbarnes@burypartners.com. The crash report went in at approximately 9:27 Central Time.

 

Thanks.

 

P.S. We have Update 1 installed.

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 7 of 9 (172 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

03-01-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: castled071049

The report doesn't appear to have it made it into our system; in fact, I could not find any reports at all based on that email address.   It's possible there's a firewall or something blocking your reports from being sent.

 

Anyway, after some internal searches, I believe you may be running into defect 1393310.  We have fixed the defect it for a future release & I'm looking into possible solution for C3D 2012.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 8 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

03-01-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: hgohel

I often don't include my email address in crash reports, but I definitley did this time. Anyway, thanks for checking it out and look forward to it being fixed.

 

I take it nobody else has reported this problem yet?

 

Jerry Barnes

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 9 of 9 (163 Views)

Re: Pipe-profile fatal error...

03-01-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: castled071049

Hi Jerry,

 

The defect was discovered and has been fixed for a future release.  It may have been reported by customers too, but not sure.

 

As a workaround, select the specific network parts from the Create Profile View wizard's "Pipe Network Display" page instead of selecting the parts first.  This will still allow you to specify parts before the view is created.

 

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs