AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
myerpryor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 1 of 9 (181 Views)

Pipe network labels

181 Views, 8 Replies
05-18-2012 08:52 AM

I'm not able to move pipe network abels. I can select them, but when I try to move the grip, my cursor doesn't snap to the grip.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (177 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: myerpryor

Is the label pinned? Does running audit help?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
myerpryor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 3 of 9 (171 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: jmayo

They're not pinned and audit didn't change anything.

 

These are labels for a data referenced network. The labels work fine in the source drawing. (I audited both the source and destination drawings).

 

The only thing I can think of that I did different from other networks created on the same day was I forgot to set a reference surface. The other network labels work fine.

 

It's a very small network - 2 structures and one pipe, so I deleted and recreated with no luck.

Valued Contributor
myerpryor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 4 of 9 (166 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: myerpryor

Looks like the problem is with the one destination drawing: I can datareference the problem network into another drawing and they work fine there. I may end up recreating the drawing as it's not very far along.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 9 (160 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: myerpryor

I would do the same. Something is wacky in that file. You should be able to drag data ref's labels w/o issue.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
myerpryor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 6 of 9 (158 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 10:52 AM in reply to: myerpryor

Right. I ended up Xreffing the source drawing instead, with the labels in it. Looks like that will work in this case.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 9 (155 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-18-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: myerpryor

I do this also on very small projects (single family homes, small rehab) so I don't have to label a design twice (design file and sheet file). I keep the entire design (srf, pipe nets, alig, profile, etc) in one file with labels and xref it into a sheet. I would not recommend this on a typical project though (commercial/industrial site plan, subdivision, etc).

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 9 (133 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-21-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: myerpryor

Can I ask what version you are using? We have not been able to import source labels at all when creating references.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
myerpryor
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 9 of 9 (121 Views)

Re: Pipe network labels

05-22-2012 03:33 AM in reply to: myerpryor

2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs