Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pipe network in multiple segments

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
m177
1426 Views, 6 Replies

Pipe network in multiple segments

Hello.

I'm very new to Civil 3D and I'm confused.

I have been asked to convert a 2D drawing into a 3D drawing that will be used for BIM (and I'm new to that term as well).  So I am creating pipe networks for the existing utilities with x' of existing cover.  

What I am running into is that there are too many segments in the pipes that I'm creating even after weeding.  For instance, I have a pipe that is about 200' in length and have about 15 segments.  That would be fine with me, but is there some way that I can tell Civil 3D to treat it like one long pipe instead of adding null structures to every single segment?  I want to be able to select the pipe and have it select the entire length instead of that single segment.  

Another reason why I want it to be a single segment is because in plan view my linetype doesn't properly show up since the segments are too many and their lengths are too short to show the linetype.  When creating a 2D drawing, a polyline can be set with linetype generation enabled so the linetype is shown in this case.  But what do I do about this in Civil 3D pipe networks?

I appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Mark

Ps.  I found a video that mentioned to create a polyline with the layout that I want, then apply elevations from suface, convert it to a feature line, then covert to a pipe network.  Supposedly, that would "connect" the pipes and structures together.  I tried this technique but it doesn't do what I'm looking for.... I suppose when he says "connect," he may have a different meaning that what I was hoping for.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
mathewkol
in reply to: m177