Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pipe network and profile issue

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
civilSD
2437 Views, 7 Replies

Pipe network and profile issue

I am new to Civil3D and working in pipe networks, and at a new firm (have an LDD and architectural [trained in Revit] background).  Typically, we have an existing file which contains all exisitng topo and surface info; a grading file which contains the alignments, profiles, and grading surface; and the design file which contains the design layout and line work.  The files are referenced with data shortcuts or xref as needed.  Users have just been drawing everything in the layout and in profile with linework, labels, etc. so I'm trying to get pipe networks in place here.

What is the best way and file in which to create a pipe network and draw the pipes/structures in profile?  If I draw the pipe network in the design file, I have to create a reference for the network in to the grading file and then draw in profile there because in the design file I am not given the option to "draw in profile".  Is it best just to draw the network in the same file as the profile is created in?  Is there a better way to break up the file structure to ease use by multiple users? 

Any suggestions are welcome - thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
civilSD
in reply to: civilSD

UPDATE: I have discovered that editing is an issue if the layout of the sanitary sewer is done in the design file and the sanitary profile is drawn in the grading file where the existing grade profile was created. I have to switch back and forth to edit in the layout and then update. That said - I'm guessing it's best to have the pipe network layout and profile drawn in the same file???
Message 3 of 8
Jay_B
in reply to: civilSD