AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nmessina
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 31 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

08-10-2009 05:03 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
I always set cogo points, so that the dimensions are always accurate when the radial parking.
Nicholas, Messina Jr.
Distinguished Contributor
nmessina
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎01-08-2008
Message 32 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

08-10-2009 05:06 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
Parking stall widths are always measured from center to center of the parking strips. The 4" width of parking strips, in my experience has never been included in the minimum width specifications.
Nicholas, Messina Jr.
Active Member
bretdt
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 33 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-30-2009 01:41 PM in reply to: *John Mayo
Has anyone figured out how to do this in AutoCAD? If so, would you be willing to share. . .I can't figure it out.
*Laurie
Message 34 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-30-2009 06:00 PM in reply to: *John Mayo
Hi bretdt,

This is a pure manual AutoCAD process for perpendicular bays

Make your self a block consisting of a single vertical line equal to the
length of a parking bay and with the insertion point at the top of the
line - give it a simple name as you'll have to type it to use it.

Draw your arc and then use the AutoCAD measure command.
Select the arc
Type B for block and type in the block name
Select Y when prompted to align block with object
Enter the bay width and you're there.

You will need to trim the end of the curve if it is not an integer
number of bays long.

Once you get it working, you can make your block show more detail such
as wheel stop kerbs.

If you need to bays on the inside of the arc, then you will either have
to compute the correct width, or offset the arc inwards and do the
measure command on the offset arc.


Regards,


Laurie Comerford


bretdt wrote:
> Has anyone figured out how to do this in AutoCAD? If so, would you be willing to share. . .I can't figure it out.
>
Distinguished Contributor
mdriver1
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎01-24-2008
Message 35 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-30-2009 07:26 PM in reply to: *John Mayo
Okay. This is an old fashioned way of doing it and how I would set it up to survey out if a CAD file's not an option.

1) You have two curves- an interior curve which represents the entrance to the stall and an exterior curve which represents the depth of the stall
2) These two curves are at an offset equal to the required stall depth
3) you have to know where the total amount of stalls start and stop (call it POC to POC and not necessarily the PC or PT but could be)
4) You have to know how many stalls of course
5) find, on the interior curve, what angle subtends the required parking stall width (call it the chord, small chord whatever) at that particular radius
6) start turning angles and distances as all of the stall lines are radial

This was before CAD was the primary means BUT ensures accuracy. It was very easy to perform in a HP 48 loaded with a survey card because you could occupy and backsight a point and perform sideshots to your heart was content without 'traversing' to the next point, hence radial stakeout.

Mark Driver
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 36 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-30-2009 09:03 PM in reply to: *John Mayo
Here is a screen recording of a custom Microstation linestyle that creates the curbs and stalls all at once. The dashed line represents the 9' spacing for the stalls. Note how the curves stay tangent when the PI's are moved. In the end I measure the stall openings along the curve. The measurment is off slightly because I didn't snap to the ends of the stall.

http://screencast.com/t/MSUlBqkJuXv
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Laurie
Message 37 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-31-2009 12:55 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
Hi Neil,

Your movie gave me the idea of defining an AutoCAD linetype to match at
least some of the Microstation functionality.

First
I then edited the file:
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D
2009\enu\Support\AeccLand.lin
by adding the following:

*PARKINGBAY, 2.5 x 4.5 parking bay
A,1.25,-0.0,["l",STANDARD,S=4.5,Y=-4.5],1.25

I was able to load this linetype and in general it worked so long as the
inner arc was drawn. so as to maintain the 2.5 desired bay width. It
still suffered from the AutoCAD "dags" on the ends of the line and also
suffered from the "l" being too wide.

Next, I edited the file:
C:\Documents and Settings\Laurie\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D
2009\enu\Support\AeccLand.shp
by adding the following:

;;; Line for parking bay, testing
*134,2,MYLINE
014,0

This compiled successfully and I can add the shape to a drawing

I then modified the PARKINGBAY Linetype definition as follows:

*PARKINGBAY, 2.5 x 4.5 parking bay
A,1.25,-0.0,[MYLINE,AECCLAND,S=4.5,Y=-4.5],1.25

but when I try to load the file with the linetype command AutoCAD tells
me I have an error in the linetype definition.

I can use any of the other shapes in the AECCLAND.SHP file and the
linetype works.

I need an AutoCAD linetype expert to tell me what is wrong with my attempts.


Regards,


Laurie Comerford


Neilw wrote:
> Here is a screen recording of a custom Microstation linestyle that creates the curbs and stalls all at once. The dashed line represents the 9' spacing for the stalls. Note how the curves stay tangent when the PI's are moved. In the end I measure the stall openings along the curve. The measurment is off slightly because I didn't snap to the ends of the stall.
>
> http://screencast.com/t/MSUlBqkJuXv
>
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 38 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-31-2009 08:08 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
The way I usually create custom linetypes, I compile the SHP file into a SHX file. And I include the shapefile extension in the linetype definition.

What happens if you compile your SHP file into SHX?

You might also need to change your definition:

*PARKINGBAY, 2.5 x 4.5 parking bay
A,1.25,-0.0,[MYLINE,AECCLAND.SHX,S=4.5,Y=-4.5],1.25


All of my linetypes (including the ones created by Autodesk) use the SHX extension in the linetype definition. I'm not sure what Acad does if that extension is missing.

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 39 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-31-2009 09:39 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
While you guys are working on a linetype solution, has anyone considered whether a dynamic block could work? With the new parametric constraints in 2010 I would think something could be made to work somewhat like the Microstation linetype, although I don't know enough about dynamic blocks to try it.

By the way, won't the custom Autocad linetype be affected by LTSCALE? Microstation linestyles can be set to maintain design units scale regardless of the linestyle scale setting of the drawing. I don't think we have that ability in ACAD.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,200
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 40 of 45 (899 Views)

Re: Parking stalls along curves

10-31-2009 10:22 AM in reply to: *John Mayo
After digging in to parametric constraints it appears there is no way to constrain a line to stay radial to an arc, so the dynamic block idea is probably a no go, unless there is a way to do it without parametric constraints.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs