Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Parking Stall Dynamic Grading

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
davidmoore
1760 Views, 12 Replies

Parking Stall Dynamic Grading

Hello,

I've been using Civil 3D 2013 for maybe 3 months now and have been running into some issues that I just can't seem to resolve.  I've been searching the internet for answers but have come up empty.

I'm working on a subdivision with attached homes, some rear loaded with alleys and parking along almost every road.

The problem I'm having is with the parking.  I have not been able to find an efficient way to include these in the surface.

The closest thing I've came up with(shown in attached image) is to make a temporary template that extends the edge of pavement to the edge of pavement at the back of the parking stall, then draw a feature line around the parking stall edge of pavement, assign elevations based on the surface(with temporary template), then offset the feature line to create the curb.

This seems to work, except if I have to make vertical changes to the road, I have to repeat that entire process.

Is there no dynamic way to add parking stalls to my surface?

Thanks, let me know if you need any additional info.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: davidmoore

Forgive me for asking, but why not add a region and subassembly to you corridor?

If that route is in approriate you also could extract the EOP FL from the corridor and attach a grading to it.

both options would be dynamic to road changes
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People)

HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram

Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win10 OS
Message 3 of 13
jmayo-EE
in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I agree Joe. Extend the corridor.