AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Ash254
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 1 of 7 (290 Views)
Accepted Solution

PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

290 Views, 6 Replies
12-18-2013 08:11 AM

Is there a way for the program to automatically change profile elevations of intersecting roads.

Say for example i have two intersecting roads ROAD A and ROAD B.

 

On my ROAD A profile at station 0+300 i have a proposed road elevation of 9.5

 

On my ROAD B profile at station 0+000 (intersecting point) I have the same proposed road elevation of 9.5

 

Now i change my ROAD A profile at station 0+300 to 10.3

 

Is there anyway to allow the program to automatically change my ROAD B profile elevations to 10.3

 

IF NOT--

and I have to use the Annotate > Add Labels > Profile View > .......................... labels,

Is there a way for those labels to link across the profiles such that

 

On my ROAD A profile at station 0+300 i put the label at the elevation of 9.5

 

On my ROAD B profile at station 0+000 (intersecting point) I have the same label at the elevation of 9.5

 

Now i change my ROAD A profile at station 0+300 to elevation of 10.3 then is there a way for it to automatically raise the ROAD B elevation label

So that I would know, without having to manually check through, that there is a discrepancy between those intersecting roads.

 

So the real jist of my query is whether I can link my alignments, profiles or annotation labels.

Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 7 (281 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-18-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: Ash254
Sure. create an intersection with the intersection wizard; it locks the secondary profile to the primary. you can use this ant not create the intersection object if you don't want one
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
Ash254
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 3 of 7 (272 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-18-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thank you i will try it out

Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 4 of 7 (263 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-18-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: Ash254
Joe's solution is the best, and that will work. It is a trick I've used several times before. Just create a dummy intersection with nothing in it, and it will accomplish what you seek,
-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Contributor
Ash254
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
Message 5 of 7 (245 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-18-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: owenmull

thanks guys for your help but do I have to create a corridor for the proposed road first??

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-18-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: Ash254
No corridor needed.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Active Contributor
yosephk
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 7 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: PROFILE ELEVATION LABEL ISSUES

12-24-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: Ash254

That's great. Thank you for sharing.

Windows 7 Pro x 64
16 GB Ram
Intel Xeon E3-1220 V2 @ 3.1 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 600
Civil 3D 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs