AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
aportillojr
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 1 of 18 (2,638 Views)
Accepted Solution

PNT files

2638 Views, 17 Replies
03-13-2012 01:10 PM

I recently requested a .tin file from our surveyor.  He sent the file.  When making a surface from the .tin file, I got the error message, need the .pnt file as well.  When I requested the .pnt file from our surveyor he sent a .txt file.  It has the format x, y, z coordinates in a list.  Without having to call and request info from the surveyor again, which he may not know how to do, can I convert the .txt file to a .pnt file?

 

Example of .txt file:

 

2,10025686.85,3098661.38,631.18,2 712
4,10025978.82,3098436.88,633.01,2 712
7,10024706.90,3098675.65,626.08,712 CA INC
8,10024261.13,3098602.11,634.21,712/TF CONTROL
9,10024780.84,3097515.40,630.93,12 60D

 

thanks,

 

mando

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 18 (2,637 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-13-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: aportillojr

The TIN extension is not exclusive to Autodesk.  There is two (or more) possibilities.

 

  1. The TIN file was created with GeoPak, which is a proprietary format you can't use.
  2. The TIN file is a LandDesktop TIN, which should have a binary PNT file in the same folder, likely the same date/time.  If you drop this in notepad it will look like garbage.

 

Ask your source what created the TIN file.  If it's the first case, they will need to provide a LandXML or other format.

Contributor
aportillojr
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 3 of 18 (2,601 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-14-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

Thanks,

 

The surveyor indicated the file came from Carlson Surveying with Autocad.

 

They said they can't generate a .pnt file.  Only a .txt file and everyone they have sent it to has not had a problem with it.  Is this new to ACAD 2012?  

 

They also indicated I could use the .txt file to import points into my drawing.  Is this true and how?

 

Thanks,

mando

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 4 of 18 (2,594 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-14-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: aportillojr

The surveyor indicated the file came from Carlson Surveying with Autocad.

 

We can read the Carlson Binary TIN in a development build of MapWorks.  Carlson in AutoCAD should be able to export a LandXML file for you.  If that's not an option, zip and post the TIN file and I should be able to convert it.

 

They said they can't generate a .pnt file.

 

The Carlson TIN file has the point information in it.  They don't need to generate a PNT file and it wouldn't do you any good anyway.

 

They also indicated I could use the .txt file to import points into my drawing.

 

Civil3D has the built-in ability to import points, including text files.  If the TXT format is P,N,E,Z,D then you can simply change the extension to AUF and go.  I suppose you could import the points and (somewhat) recreate the TIN, although it could be a slightly different interpretation.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,186
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 18 (2,571 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: aportillojr

aportillojr wrote:

I recently requested a .tin file from our surveyor.

mando


 

In the future, just ask for a LandXML file of the surface, one file, one step, no problems.

If they can't or won't do that, then ask for a DWG file of the triangles (not Contours!)

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,601
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 18 (2,569 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

rkmcswain wrote:

ask for a DWG file of the triangles (not Contours!)


I do not concur with you, sir.
If we have contours, we easily create 3D surfaces, or we can plot a rich 2D plan map.
But if you have triangles, you must rebuild everything: in other words, contours are "the" start, whereas TIN are "the" end of the road.
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,186
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 18 (2,565 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

rkmcswain wrote:

ask for a DWG file of the triangles (not Contours!)


I do not concur with you, sir.
If we have contours, we easily create 3D surfaces, or we can plot a rich 2D plan map.
But if you have triangles, you must rebuild everything: in other words, contours are "the" start, whereas TIN are "the" end of the road.

You have it backwards. Contours are a REPRESENTATION of a surface. The triangles ARE the surface.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delaunay_triangulation

 

Contributor
aportillojr
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 8 of 18 (2,564 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 09:14 AM in reply to: aportillojr

Thanks for all the good answers.  I was looking for spot shots to do some fine grading.  When I imported the .txt file and set it to P,N,E,Z,D it worked great.  in future, rkmcswain, i will ask for the  LandXML file.  I learned how to import the points from .txt file so if anything I learned something.  That is good right?

 

I think I see what you mean by contours are the start and tin is the end of the road.  Do you mean you can manipulate tin lines to fine tune your contours, right?  If I receive contours, I would have to create a surface from poly lines and change properties to tin surface, right?  This will not give me the points I was looking for from the get go.  I retract my statement, I guess I don't understand the road statement.  

 

Thanks and have a good weekend,

mando

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,601
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 18 (2,560 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

rkmcswain wrote:
Contours are a REPRESENTATION of a surface. The triangles ARE the surface.

I guess you're joking, man...

Contours are like the foundation of your house, and triangles are the roof: what's more useful?

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,218
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 18 (2,555 Views)

Re: PNT files

03-16-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

rkmcswain wrote:
Contours are a REPRESENTATION of a surface. The triangles ARE the surface.

I guess you're joking, man...

Contours are like the foundation of your house, and triangles are the roof: what's more useful?


When a surveyor goes into the field to collect information for the topography map, does he shoot contours, or does he shoot points with elevation?

 

Pretty much every topo I have seen starts with points, from which TIN lines can be drawn, from which contours can be interpolated. I don't believe I've ever seen it done the other way around. 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs