AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
erwebsite
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-21-2007
Message 1 of 17 (248 Views)
Accepted Solution

Overall Parcel

248 Views, 16 Replies
09-17-2012 11:51 AM

I thought you could create an overall parcel but, I can't figure out how. I have 21 parcels and I want one parcel that is all 21 together.

 

Thanks

-John

Civil 3D 2014
Win 7
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 17 (247 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-17-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: erwebsite

Parcels are in Sites.  Make a new site and use that to make another single Parcel.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 17 (233 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-17-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: wfberry

I'm confused?

 

Would not the overall parcel have been the parent of the subdivision? I did not know you could make parcels without subdividing?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 17 (195 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-18-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

This is a situation where Civil3d does things differently than the real world.  Most of the time the lot that you own is a subdivision of the larger parcel that the developer started from, which is a further subdivision of a Section, which is part of a Township etc.  You may own the individual lot but the larger parcels continue to exist as a reference for the surveyors to work from.

 

The problem is that in C3d when you subdivide off a lot, that portion is removed from the larger parcel.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 17 (192 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-18-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: sboon

Yes I am aware of that, I was confused the the OP got 21 parcels without subdividing.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 6 of 17 (179 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-18-2012 05:32 PM in reply to: sboon

Can anyone say data shortcuts for parcels or someting similar?

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 17 (172 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-18-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: erwebsite
Not sure what you mean Joe. I can't see anywhere in the OP's post where it says he did not subdivide.

Anyway, it's easy to do. Just make parcels from interconnected linework.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 17 (161 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-19-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: mathewk

I wasn't thinking from objects. I couldn't figure out how to draw a parcel from the parcel tool bar? I see now fixed lines and curves can do it but it kinda clunky.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 9 of 17 (156 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-19-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: erwebsite

When you create a bunch of parcels on a site, an overal parcel is automatically created that contains all of the connected "sub"-parcels. You can attach a label to it as you would any parcel. No need to use separate sites, etc. It's done automatically.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,740
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 17 (142 Views)

Re: Overall Parcel

09-19-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: erwebsite

You may want to look at keeping one file for the existing parcel and make another for the proposed parcels.

 

Use xref's to bring them all into you design files and sheet files.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs