AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Robert
Message 1 of 12 (699 Views)

Opening drawing in 2011

699 Views, 11 Replies
06-02-2010 10:49 AM
Weird goings-on in opening 2010 or earlier drawings with 2011. Some will
open and others will not. The ones that don't will start to open, I can see
them on the screen trying, then they are gone.
*Jeff Mishler
Message 2 of 12 (698 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-02-2010 06:48 PM in reply to: *Robert
Is there anything these unopened drawings have in common?

Have you tried opening via Recover?

Do they open for others? If you need someone to test this for you, just let
me know. miff AT sonic DOT net

I've opened dozens of older drawing in 2011 without one exhibiting the
behavior you've described. This leads me to think it's either a drawing
specific issue or something in your install.


"Robert" wrote in message
news:6401475@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Weird goings-on in opening 2010 or earlier drawings with 2011. Some will
> open and others will not. The ones that don't will start to open, I can
> see them on the screen trying, then they are gone.
Distinguished Contributor
txus
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 3 of 12 (678 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-15-2010 02:42 PM in reply to: *Jeff Mishler

I have the same problem. I dont think it's cause of the drawning.

 

For instance, yesterday i create  a new drawning based in a template 2010, everything went fine, and saved the dwg.

 

Today I open this dwg and it occurs what described above.

 

Then i tried to create a template from scratch, adding some styles of previous templates (2010). Once it's saved and closed, i set the preferences to become this new template as new by defect...and not opening!!

 

Im just getting crazy with this issue. and also I think this version is very unstable, just a feeling, in these 4 days of use.

 

I have Spanish version of AC3D 2011, installed on XP 32bits OS

 

 

 

--

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Version 2
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel Core i7950 3.07Ghz
12GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5700 series
Mentor
randcdavidson
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 4 of 12 (672 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-15-2010 03:00 PM in reply to: txus

Crap shoot for me. Some dwg's will open no problem some wont. I have to do a recover to get them open, That works everytime. What's worse is that my co-worker has the same c3d2011 downloaded-file installed on his machine in the next room and does not have a single problem opening any drawings that I do. There is simply something in the SW that is conflicting with some other SW on my particular machine is all I can figure.

Distinguished Contributor
txus
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 5 of 12 (584 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 01:53 PM in reply to: randcdavidson

The same as described by randcdavidson

 A version of C3D 2001 in my desktop PC has this strange behaviour, but in a laptop I have installed C3D 2011and no problem.

 

Animated gif below

 

 

 

--

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Version 2
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel Core i7950 3.07Ghz
12GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5700 series
Mentor
randcdavidson
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 6 of 12 (576 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 02:16 PM in reply to: txus

I had our reseller look into it. He said AD told him sounds like a corrupt reg entry. He did some REG editing and deleted the documents and setting///3d2011 folder then ran C3D 2011. It had to rebuild some reg entries. Everything works perfectly now. No more crashes and open works as designed. Have your reseller look into it with AD.

Distinguished Contributor
txus
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 7 of 12 (574 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 02:25 PM in reply to: randcdavidson

Well... I'm my reseller's former applic. engineer :smileyindifferent:

In Spain we dont have such a support...it's shame but its true.

 

Actually I work for an ATC ( the only one for C3D in Spain) and no support neither... :smileysad:

 

I keep researching and will have a look in reg entries

 

Thanks!!!

--

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Version 2
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel Core i7950 3.07Ghz
12GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5700 series
Mentor
randcdavidson
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 8 of 12 (571 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 02:34 PM in reply to: txus

Perhaps since this is an Autodesk ran forum they might step in and offer the fix as they did my reseller. Keep your hairs crossed.

Distinguished Contributor
txus
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 9 of 12 (564 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 02:56 PM in reply to: randcdavidson

 


randcdavidson wrote:

Perhaps since this is an Autodesk ran forum they might step in and offer the fix as they did my reseller. Keep your hairs crossed.


I have this topic under suscription ...and i keep tuned

 

--

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Version 2
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel Core i7950 3.07Ghz
12GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5700 series
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 10 of 12 (552 Views)

Re: Opening drawing in 2011

06-30-2010 08:47 PM in reply to: *Robert

Autodesk is out for an extended weekoff until after the July 4th holiday break. 

 

To help, can you post the file?  It appears you saved the file down to 2007 and that is the drawing that fails to open.  

 

Have you tried to audit or recover that drawing?

 

 

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.