AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
deltacoolguy
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Message 1 of 15 (2,781 Views)

Open Subassembly Composer???

2781 Views, 14 Replies
05-26-2012 03:51 PM

I hate to ask such a simple question, but for the life of me I cannot find where or how to even open the Subassembly Composer.

 

I installed it... I think... at least it said it installed and never gave me an error message.  Is it a stand-alone program?  Is it within Acad?

 

Thanks.

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,715
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 15 (2,777 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

05-26-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: deltacoolguy

Start menu, All Programs, Autodesk, Subassembly Composer 2012/2013.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Mentor
deltacoolguy
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Message 3 of 15 (2,757 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

05-27-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

Hmmm.  It's not there.  The program is listed as being installed when I check the "remove programs" list for the computer, but there is nothing either on the desktop or the start menu under Autodesk or as a stand-alone.

 

Unfortunately, the 'remove programs' list will not let drag it to the desktop and create a shortcut, either.

 

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 15 (2,755 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

05-27-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

Using Windows Explorer browse to C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Subassembly Composer 2012 or C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Subassembly Composer 2013, depending on version. Then locate the SubassemblyComposer.exe file, right cllck, Create Shortcut. You will be warned (if using Vista or Win7) that it can't create the shortcut there, would you like to create it on the desktop, respond Yes. You can then copy that to the start menu.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
deltacoolguy
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Message 5 of 15 (2,736 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

05-28-2012 10:10 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

I'm at a loss.

 

- I could not find the *.exe file

- I uninstalled the program, then reinstalled the program.  Everything on both the uninstall and the reinstall seemed to go without a hitch.

- Still nothing in the Start Menu.  Still showed up in the Uninstall Programs in Control Panel.  Still could not find the program.

- Did a search of my entire hard drive... all of them... and the *.exe file did not show up anywhere.  It still shows in the Uninstall Programs in Control Panel, however.

 

Yes, I am at a loss.

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 6 of 15 (2,707 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

05-29-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

Hi delatcoolguy-

 

Try this:

 

1. Uninstall the SAC from the Control Panel > Prog and Feat.

 

2. Disable the UAC prior to the install. This can be done by opening the Control Panel > System and Security > Action Center > Change User Account Control settings and turning it to the lowest level.

 

3. Fully enable the .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 in the Control Panel > Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off and make sure that all three boxes for .NET 3.5 SP1 are checked.

 

4. Add the following policy for Windows Installer to the registry (or just rename the extension of the attached .txt file to .reg, and double click on the file to enter the info into the registry):

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer]

 

"AlwaysInstallElevated"=dword:00000001

 

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer]

 

"AlwaysInstallElevated"=dword:00000001

 

There is additional information about this Windows Installer policy at:

 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa367561(v=vs.85).aspx

 

Microsoft recommends that the policy be set back to "0" upon completion of the install maintenance so you might need to browse out to this key at the end to reset to "0".

 

5. From the Control Panel > PRograms and Features, run the C3D Reinstall.

 

6. Then launch the SAC install again, by Right click, "Run as Admin"

 

Hope this helps!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Mentor
deltacoolguy
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Message 7 of 15 (2,620 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

06-04-2012 08:41 PM in reply to: SethHall

I am still at a loss.  I did everything, including the re-install, and I get the same results.

 

ETA:  I even tried to re-install again, without having uninstalled first, and it told me everything was configured fine.  Yet, no sign of the *exe file, or anything.

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
New Member
augustogk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 8 of 15 (2,488 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

06-29-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

I have the same problem.

Mentor
deltacoolguy
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
Message 9 of 15 (2,439 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

07-06-2012 06:00 PM in reply to: augustogk

augustogk wrote:

I have the same problem.


FWIW, I never was able to resolve the 2012 problem, even with Autodesk's help.  It did load just fine with 2013, though.

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Active Member
wes.ashworth
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2011
Message 10 of 15 (2,297 Views)

Re: Open Subassembly Composer???

08-03-2012 02:52 PM in reply to: deltacoolguy

I have the same problem, also.  Where do you download SAC vs 2013?  I've looked all over the subscription center and can't find it.  Tried to reinstall. Never asks about SAC.

 

Wes

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs