AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 11 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-06-2010 09:09 AM in reply to: nikoue
If there is a way to add a projection method, I don't know how.

You might try opening a support request with Autodesk. Open it with the Map team, and not the Civil 3D team - I believe the Map team is the one that deals with coordinate systems.

You can sort-of transform a drawing. You can use Map to connect to other drawings, and then use Map Queries to pull the data from the source drawings into your current drawing. Map transforms items as it queries them.

Unfortunately, Map Queries do not work on Civil 3D entities. So you can query plain Autocad items, but not things like Alignments, Gradings, Feature Lines, etc.

You can also use LandXML to transform items between coordinate systems. So, if you have a Surface in one coordinate system, you can Export it to LandXML. As long as you have the coordinate system correctly set in your drawing before doing the export, the LandXML file will contain coordinate system information. Then, when you import the LandXML, it is reprojected to the coordinate system of the drawing you are importing into.

So you can kind of transform things, in a very stilted, cumbersome, and often-incomplete fashion.

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
nikoue
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 12 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-06-2010 09:46 AM in reply to: nikoue
Thanks a lot for your answers.
Have you heart if autodesk design Map Queries to work on Civil 3D entities in the future?
Civil 3d 2013. Also i'm trying Civil 3d 2015
Win 7 Ultimate x64 OCZ RevoDrive 240GB
Intel i7 930 Ati Firepro V7800 12 GB Ram

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 13 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-06-2010 11:54 AM in reply to: nikoue
All I can tell you that it's been requested ever since the release of Civil 3D 2005. :smileysad:

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
nikoue
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 14 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-06-2010 03:45 PM in reply to: nikoue
can you transform Alignments, Gradings, Feature Lines, etc using landxml?
Civil 3d 2013. Also i'm trying Civil 3d 2015
Win 7 Ultimate x64 OCZ RevoDrive 240GB
Intel i7 930 Ati Firepro V7800 12 GB Ram

*Laurie
Message 15 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-06-2010 04:24 PM in reply to: nikoue
Hi,

And from a personal communication with a senior Civil 3D manager, it is
quite clear the Civil 3D team are as frustrated about this as we are.

Keep in mind that Civil 3D is built on top of Map, so it would take
serious effort at the Map level to 'anticipate' the Civil 3D objects and
deal with them. It is clear the Map managers haven't been prepared to
assign the necessary portions of their budget to this end.

Thus the decision to do it must be imposed on the Map team from a higher
level and you can imagine the internal politics of whose budget this
comes from.

Regards,


Laurie Comerford

dei-feif wrote:
> All I can tell you that it's been requested ever since the release of Civil 3D 2005. :smileysad:
>
> -- Sinc
> http://www.ejsurveying.com
> http://www.quuxsoft.com
>
*wfb
Message 16 of 16 (415 Views)

Re: Oblique equidistant azimuthal projection

04-07-2010 01:18 PM in reply to: nikoue
Since the Beta testing is over, hopefully I am not going out of bounds with
this quote from Nick (somewhat out of context):


"You have a valid request, however it is a misnomer that Civil 3D is built
on top of Map. They are actually completely separate at this juncture. As
you suggest the only thing in common is the coordinate systems we share,
otherwise each product functions entirely without the other. Hence why it
is not as easy to simply have Map recognize our objects.

Hopefully you submitted a feature request for this item on the left hand
side menus."

Nick"






"Laurie" wrote in message
news:6368175@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,

And from a personal communication with a senior Civil 3D manager, it is
quite clear the Civil 3D team are as frustrated about this as we are.

Keep in mind that Civil 3D is built on top of Map, so it would take
serious effort at the Map level to 'anticipate' the Civil 3D objects and
deal with them. It is clear the Map managers haven't been prepared to
assign the necessary portions of their budget to this end.

Thus the decision to do it must be imposed on the Map team from a higher
level and you can imagine the internal politics of whose budget this
comes from.

Regards,


Laurie Comerford

dei-feif wrote:
> All I can tell you that it's been requested ever since the release of
> Civil 3D 2005. :smileysad:
>
> -- Sinc
> http://www.ejsurveying.com
> http://www.quuxsoft.com
>

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs