AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 1 of 7 (222 Views)
Accepted Solution

OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

222 Views, 6 Replies
11-02-2012 02:58 PM

with the default cross slope 2% in place and no profile targets, section views with subject sub assembly come up at 0%

 

there's some polyline width targets but no verticals...

 

any thoughts?

 

thx!

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 7 (201 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-03-2012 10:53 PM in reply to: torpedo99

Check the superelevation parameters for the alignment.

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 3 of 7 (195 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: sboon

the alignment has no super parameters, therefore it seems the defaults in the subassemblies should dictate

 

other thoughts?

 

thx,

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 7 (191 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: torpedo99

I just checked the help and the parameters for the sub.  I don't see a default slope parameter, and the help indicates that the lane slope always comes from the superelevation.  Perhaps we're talking about different subassemblies or different versions?

 

Clipboard99.png

 

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 5 of 7 (186 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: sboon

I'm using 2012

 

In help under "layout mode operation" it sure seems to imply -2%, also in your graphic it shows a -2% slope value...

 

But I'm guessing you're on the right track.  However I've got a long tangent road and the super wizard simply returns "no curves on alignment" and the tabular editor won't let me add anything.  So I can't simply add 2% normal crown for the length of the roadway, hoping the assembly would kick in.

 

Any last thoughts?

 

again much obliged,

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 7 (176 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-04-2012 05:40 PM in reply to: torpedo99

The superelevation parameters won't calculate and the software won't allow you to add anything until you have a design speed set for the alignment.  Open the Alignment Properties dialog, switch to the Design Criteria tab and use the button to add one.

Clipboard01.png

I tried some experimenting with a single tangent alignment like yours and ran into the same problem - without any curves you cannot enter any superelevation values.  I ended up adding a very small three point curve to the end of the alignment then used masking to hide it.  Once that was done I could add the superelevation.

Active Contributor
torpedo99
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 7 of 7 (154 Views)

Re: OVERLAYWIDENWITHSUPER1 zero cross slope glitch

11-05-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: sboon

you da man!

 

Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs