AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
Blessed4x
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 1 of 6 (945 Views)

No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

945 Views, 5 Replies
01-18-2011 11:36 AM

I'm trying to learn the intersection wizard in Civil3D.  Up until now I've been doing all my intersections by hand which has been time consuming and clunky.  The problem that I've run into is that the corridor that is created looks wonderful expect that the wizard did not create curb return profiles.  Instead, all my curb returns are at elevation 0.  As far as I can tell, everything is complete and the rest of the intersection looks fine.  Any idea what could cause this?  I've studied the whitepapers on the subject but have not found any place where I deviate from what is being shown.  I am using the standard assemblies that come stock with Civil 3D.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.


I have attached a .jpg showing the lack of curb returns profiles.

Valued Contributor
JRedell
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 2 of 6 (767 Views)

Re: No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

08-18-2011 01:05 PM in reply to: Blessed4x

Did you ever come up with a solution to this?

JRedell, PLS
Erlandsen
Civil3d 2012
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66GHz
Win7 64bit
Quadro FX1700 (Driver 265.70)
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 6 (752 Views)

Re: No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

08-18-2011 07:12 PM in reply to: JRedell

Are you trying to create a 4-way or Tee intersection? I ran into this when creating a 4-way.

 

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
JRedell
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 4 of 6 (737 Views)

Re: No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

08-19-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: klugb

I'm trying to create a 4-way intersection. The main road offset profiles show up like they're supposed to, but the curb return alignments are created with either a blank profile or no profile at all. I've been having to just use the intersection object to create all the alignments and then manually create the curb return profiles.

JRedell, PLS
Erlandsen
Civil3d 2012
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66GHz
Win7 64bit
Quadro FX1700 (Driver 265.70)
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 5 of 6 (732 Views)

Re: No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

08-19-2011 07:55 AM in reply to: JRedell

I was told by Autodesk support that it was the way my alignments were setup was causing the problem. Do you have only (2) alignments that cross or more than (2)?

 

I had one East-West and one starting at the intersection running north with another one at the intersection running south, so the beginning point of each N-S alignment was the intersection point.

 

I had to merge the N-S alignments into one continuous one that crosses the E-W one. I explained to Autodesk my unhappiness with this requirement because we always have our alignments setup this way starting at the mainline with 10+00 and going either North or South being upstation as you move away from centerline.

 

After complaining, I tested it and it does work correctly now based on the new alignment setup.

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP1)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Valued Contributor
JRedell
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 6 of 6 (730 Views)

Re: No Curb Return Profiles Using Intersection Wizard

08-19-2011 07:59 AM in reply to: klugb

Ah I see......I do in fact have 1 alignment for the main road and the side roads are two separate alignments. Having the cross roads be a single alignment really doesn't work all that well in a subdivision so I'll likely have to just keep doing it the way I am now. Thanks for the info!!

JRedell, PLS
Erlandsen
Civil3d 2012
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66GHz
Win7 64bit
Quadro FX1700 (Driver 265.70)
8GB RAM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs